Hannu Rajaniemi's picture

Hannu Rajaniemi

Finland (b.1978)

Hannu was born in Ylivieska, Finland and survived the polar bears, the freezing cold and the Nokia recruiting agents long enough to graduate from the University of Oulu. After brief stints in Cambridge University and working as a research scientist for the Finnish Defence Forces, he moved to Edinburgh and is now working on his PhD thesis in string theory.

Genres: Science Fiction
New and upcoming books
September 2024

Jean le Flambeur
   1. The Quantum Thief (2010)
   2. The Fractal Prince (2012)
   3. The Causal Angel (2014)
   Summerland (2018)
   I Built a City in China (2024)
   Darkome (2024)
thumbno image availablethumb
   Collected Fiction (2015)
   Invisible Planets (2017)
   Future Tense (2019) (with others)
Anthologies edited
Hannu Rajaniemi recommends
The Moonday Letters (2022)
Emmi Itäranta
"The Moonday Letters is a thing entirely its own, full of melancholy, a sense of wonder and hope. It takes you on a shamanistic journey to a living and breathing future, carried by a mystery that slowly unravels. Iteranta is a compelling narrator who also knows when to pause to conjure stunning images with her always confident, exquisitely polished prose."
Empress of Forever (2019)
Max Gladstone
"Empress of Forever is a spaceship. It blasts through a vast sparkling cosmos, powered by myth and Gladstone's boundless imagination, crewed by characters you can't help but love."
The Freeze-Frame Revolution (2018)
Peter Watts
"Watts takes familiar-seeming SF tropes and accelerates them towards lightspeed, until they become something chillingly other. A gripping tale where galactic timescales collide with biology and age-old human dilemmas."

Anthologies containing stories by Hannu Rajaniemi
Nordic Visions (2023)
The Best of Nordic Speculative Fiction
edited by
Margrét Helgadóttir
The Best Science Fiction of the Year: Volume 7 (2023)
(Best Science Fiction of the Year , book 7)
edited by
Neil Clarke
The Year's Top Hard Science Fiction Stories 6 (2022)
(Year's Top Hard Science Fiction Stories, book 6)
edited by
Allan Kaster

More anthologies 

John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2011) : The Quantum Thief
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2013) : The Fractal Prince

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors