book cover of Queen of the Conquered
Added by 2 of our members

Queen of the Conquered

(2019)
(The first book in the Islands of Blood and Storm series)
A novel by

 
 
An engrossing tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.

On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.
But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim.
Praise for Queen of the Conquered:
"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild
"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." --NPR Books
"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." --Library Journal

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"An utterly compelling look at slavery, power, and complicity. Uncomfortable, heart rending, and utterly necessary." - Aliette de Bodard

"An ambitious, courageous, and unflinching novel that uncovers the rotten core of our colonial heritage and yet also celebrates the fierce resistance and heroic endurance of the most abused and exploited." - Kate Elliott

"A brilliant analysis of power and privilege set against an alternately beautiful and brutal background, you will root for Sigourney even as you question both her actions and motives. Searing and painful, Kacen Callender has managed to create a book that will stick with you long after the last page." - Justina Ireland

"From the very first paragraph, Callender's adult debut stuns. A complex and furious examination of colonialism, Queen of the Conquered is a storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo. I've been looking for this book half my life." - Tochi Onyebuchi

"Kacen Callender depicts colonialism, rage and the terrible price of power with haunting, unflinching eloquence. Queen of the Conquered is a heart-stopping masterpiece." - Tasha Suri

"Callender's heart-wrenching work is a story that refuses easy answers, trope saviors, or all-is-well endings. Lofty as it seems, if you imagine Hamlet and Agatha Christie's Ten Little Soldiers fused in a narrative that finds its soul from the pain of our cruelest histories, you'll have captured a piece of the powerful fantasy Callender has wrought in Queen of the Conquered." - Evan Winter


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Wolf of Oren-Yaro
(Chronicles of the Bitch Queen, book 1)
K S Villoso

Used availability for Kacen Callender's Queen of the Conquered

Paperback Editions

November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered (Islands of Blood and Storm (1))
Author(s): Kacen Callender
ISBN: 0-316-45493-1 / 978-0-316-45493-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered: Islands of Blood and Storm, Book 1
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered: Islands of Blood and Storm, Book 1
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered: Islands of Blood and Storm, Book 1
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered: Islands of Blood and Storm, Book 1
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered (Islands of Blood and Storm Book 1)
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Queen of the Conquered (Islands of Blood and Storm Book 1)
Author(s): Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU