book cover of The City of Brass

The City of Brass

(2017)
(The first book in the Daevabad Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It's a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound - and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer

Featuring a stepback and extra content including a bonus scene and an excerpt from The Kingdom of Copper.

Genre: Fantasy    

Praise for this book

"An opulent masterpiece. Chakraborty's debut is desire-soaked, intrigue-laced, and rife with so-delicious-you'll-sink-your-teeth-into-it worldbuilding and equally mesmerizing characters. A must-read." - Roshani Chokshi

"The City of Brass immerses you in a magnificent and vivid world. It's a thrilling adventure, brimming with fabulous magic, compelling characters, and wonderful intrigue. I can't wait for book two!" - Sarah Beth Durst

"A richly imagined, stunningly immersive book that takes you into a world of darkly alluring djinn and beguiling magic... Peopled with irresistible characters and steeped in the myths of the Middle East, The City of Brass is a dazzlingly inventive tale." - Ausma Zehanat Khan

"The City of Brass is the best adult fantasy I've read since The Name of the Wind. It's stunning and complex and consuming and fantastic. You must read it." - Sabaa Tahir

"S. A. Chakraborty's debut novel is an adventure that sweeps readers through the streets of Cairo and out into a spellbinding landscape of magic, warring clans, sacrifice, and betrayal. Each page reveals a new wonder. Con-woman Nahri, djinn warrior Dara, and the enchanted city that they--and we--are only just beginning to understand, are captivating. What an exciting ride!" - Fran Wilde


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Rebel of the Sands
(Rebel of the Sands, book 1)
Alwyn Hamilton
thumb
The Fifth Season
(Broken Earth, book 1)
N K Jemisin
thumb
The Obelisk Gate
(Broken Earth, book 2)
N K Jemisin

Used availability for S A Chakraborty's The City of Brass

Hardback Editions

February 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-00-823939-8 / 978-0-00-823939-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy)
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-06-267810-8 / 978-0-06-267810-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-00-831973-1 / 978-0-00-831973-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-00-823942-8 / 978-0-00-823942-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy)
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-06-267811-6 / 978-0-06-267811-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-00-830189-1 / 978-0-00-830189-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-00-823940-1 / 978-0-00-823940-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy)
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 0-06-269095-7 / 978-0-06-269095-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 1-5384-5612-5 / 978-1-5384-5612-5
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: Library Edition
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 1-5384-5610-9 / 978-1-5384-5610-1
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
ISBN: 1-5384-5611-7 / 978-1-5384-5611-8
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy)
Author(s): S A Chakraborty
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA