book cover of The Storm King
Added by 1 of our members

The Storm King

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Burying the past only gives it strength - and fury.

Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father.

Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.

This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion.

As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming - one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"Deeply atmospheric, breathlessly suspenseful, with a ticking clock like no other—a terrific thriller." - Lee Child

"Brendan Duffy owes me several nights of sleep, because once I finished the first chapter of his novel, I couldn’t stop turning the pages until I’d read every thrilling, unsettling, heartbreakingly lovely last one of them. Duffy’s novel is, on the surface, a gripping murder mystery—but beneath that lies a love story, a cautionary coming-of-age tale, and a devastating meditation on violence and loss. A whirlwind of intrigue, vengeance, and wild longing, The Storm King will sweep you off your feet and blow you away." - Robin Wasserman


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Brendan Duffy's The Storm King

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Storm King
Author(s): Brendan Duffy
ISBN: 1-4328-5175-6 / 978-1-4328-5175-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Storm King: A Novel
Author(s): Brendan Duffy
ISBN: 0-8041-7814-3 / 978-0-8041-7814-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Storm King: A Novel
Author(s): Brendan Duffy
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Storm King: A Novel
Author(s): Brendan Duffy
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Storm King: A Novel
Author(s): Brendan Duffy
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA