book cover of The Rival
Added by 10 of our members

The Rival

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Helena is beautiful, privileged, happily married and the Creative Director for the UK's hottest luxury beauty retailer. She has everything that Ashley has ever wanted.

When Ashley wins a job as Helena's assistant, she is determined to impress. But is Ashley the perfect protégée or a ruthless rival?

When Helena discovers she is pregnant, Ashley's fierce ambition soon becomes apparent and it sets in motion a terrible series of events that could see both women lose everything...

A gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Whisper Network and Liane Moriarty.

'This is a taut, chilling read with a killer twist at the end'
Sun

'Brilliant and insidious'

Lucy Clarke, author of You Let Me In

'A compelling addictive read... I absolutely loved it'
Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A gripping, unpredictable read with two compelling female characters who I both loved and hated in equal measure." - Tracy Buchanan

"The Rival is a gripping psychological suspense that delves deep into the complex relationship of two women." - Elisabeth Carpenter

"Brilliant and insidious." - Lucy Clarke

"A chilling and compelling debut." - Lucy Dawson

"Dark, thought-provoking and compelling, The Rival is a brilliant study of female tensions that builds to a shocking and unexpected climax." - Rebecca Fleet

"A fantastic debut of how female relationships can turn toxic with devastating consequences." - Sue Fortin

"Absolutely terrific, a beautifully written debut from an exciting new voice in psychological fiction." - Cass Green

"A compelling, addictive read... I absolutely loved it." - Karen Hamilton


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Charlotte Duckworth's The Rival

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
ISBN: 1-78747-093-8 / 978-1-78747-093-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
ISBN: 1-78747-095-4 / 978-1-78747-095-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
ISBN: 1-78747-094-6 / 978-1-78747-094-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rival
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rival: An absolutely addictive psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rival: An absolutely addictive psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist
Author(s): Charlotte Duckworth
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU