book cover of Truthwitch
Added by 22 of our members

Truthwitch

(2016)
(The first book in the Witchlands series)
A novel by

 
 
The first in the Witchlands series, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is a brilliantly imagined coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Victoria Aveyard and Trudi Canavan.

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands . . .

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she's a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult's true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls' heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Continue the fantasy adventure series with Windwitch.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Featuring vibrant characters and an innovative system of magic, Susan Dennard's Truthwitch is a fast-paced adventure and a wonderful tribute to the power of the binding ties of friendship." - Jacqueline Carey

"Truthwitch has all of the elements I savour - a richly imagined magical world, ruthless politics, steamy romance, and characters who grab you and won't let go." - Cinda Williams Chima

"Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is like a cake stuffed full of your favourite fantasy treats: highway robbery, swordplay, deep friendships, treachery, magic, piracy on the high seas, and romance. If you like any or all of the above in the fantasy tales, this book will delight you." - Robin Hobb

"Make room on your all-time favourites shelf: Truthwitch is an instant new classic. It reminded me of why I started reading fantasy in the first place: its fierce and vibrant world, richly-drawn characters, and dazzling intrigue harkens to the best of Megan Whalen Turner, Robin Hobb, and Jacqueline Carey. And while it pays homage to the epic fantasies that have come before it, it also lays the foundation for a bright new chapter in the genre...Do not miss out!" - Sarah J Maas

"Truthwitch has it all, strong female characters, adventure, magic, romance, and non-stop action that will leave you breathless." - Maria V Snyder


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Tempests and Slaughter
(Numair Chronicles, book 1)
Tamora Pierce
thumb
Whisper
(Whisper, book 1)
Lynette Noni
thumb
A Court of Mist and Fury
(Court of Thorns and Roses, book 2)
Sarah J Maas

Used availability for Susan Dennard's Truthwitch

Hardback Editions

January 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) (Witchlands)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 0-606-39586-5 / 978-0-606-39586-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2001 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands Series)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 1-4472-8204-3 / 978-1-4472-8204-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel (The Witchlands (1))
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 0-7653-7928-7 / 978-0-7653-7928-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Teen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands Series)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 1-4472-8206-X / 978-1-4472-8206-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: The Witchlands (The Witchlands (1))
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 0-7653-7929-5 / 978-0-7653-7929-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Teen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands Series)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 1-4472-8205-1 / 978-1-4472-8205-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands Series)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 1-5098-2502-9 / 978-1-5098-2502-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (Witchlands)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 0-7653-9022-1 / 978-0-7653-9022-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan USA International ed
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (Witchlands)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
ISBN: 0-14-752375-3 / 978-0-14-752375-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


January 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands Series Book 1)
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tor
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: The Witchlands
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tor Teen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Truthwitch: Witchlands 1
Author(s): Susan Dennard
Publisher: Tor UK
Availability: Amazon AU