Eleanor Estes's picture
16 books added

Eleanor Estes

USA flag (1906 - 1988)

Eleanor Ruth Rosenfeld (Estes)was an American children's author. She was born in West Haven, Connecticut as Eleanor Ruth Rosenfield. Originally a librarian, Estes' writing career began following a case of tuberculosis. Bedridden while recovering, Estes began writing down some of her childhood memories, which would later turn into full-length children's books.

Estes's book Ginger Pye (1951) won the Newbery Medal, and three of her other books (The Middle Moffat, Rufus M., and The Hundred Dresses) were chosen as Newbery Honor books. She also received the Certificate of Award for Outstanding Contribution to Childrens Literature and was nominated for the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award. By the time of her death at age 82, Estes had written 19 children's books and one novel for adults.

Genres: Children's Fiction
   1. The Moffats (1941)
   2. The Middle Moffat (1942)
   3. Rufus M (1943)
   4. The Moffat Museum (1980)
   Ginger Pye (1951)
   Pinky Pye (1958)
The Alley
   1. The Alley (1964)
   2. The Tunnel of Hugsy Goode (1973)
Picture Books show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors