Alan Warner's picture

Alan Warner

Scotland (b.1964)

Scottish novelist Alan Warner was born in 1964. Together with Irvine Welsh and A L Kennedy he is seen by many critics as one of the most exciting voices in contemporary Scottish literature.

He is the author of five novels: the acclaimed Morvern Callar (1995), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; These Demented Lands (1997), winner of the Encore Award; The Sopranos (1998), winner of the Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award; The Man Who Walks (2002), an imaginative and surreal black comedy; and The Worms Can Carry Me to Heaven (2006). Morvern Callar has been adapted as a film, and The Sopranos is to follow shortly. His short story 'After the Vision' was included in the anthology Children of Albion Rovers (1997) and 'Bitter Salvage' was included in the Disco Biscuits (1997).

Alan Warner lives in County Wicklow in Ireland. In 2003 he was nominated by Granta magazine as one of twenty 'Best of Young British Novelists'.

Genres: Historical Mystery, Literary Fiction
   1. The Sopranos (1998)
   2. The Stars in the Bright Sky (2010)
   Morvern Callar (1995)
   These Demented Lands (1997)
   The Man Who Walks (2002)
   The Worms Can Carry Me to Heaven (2006)
   The Deadman's Pedal (2012)
   Their Lips Talk of Mischief (2014)
   Our Ladies (2020)
   Marko Sent Me North (2020)
   Kitchenly 434 (2021)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Series contributed to
   1. Here (2012) (with others)
Omnibus editions show
Alan Warner recommends
That Was a Shiver (2017)
James Kelman
"Kelman brings alive a human consciousness like no other writer can."
Fallow (2016)
Daniel Shand
"A brilliant, unpredictable road novel."
Narcopolis (2012)
Jeet Thayil
"Completely fascinating and told with a feverish and furious necessity."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Alan Warner
Children of Albion Rovers (1997)
An Anthology of New Scottish Writing
edited by
Kevin Williamson

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (1997) : Morvern Callar
Saltire Literary Awards Best Book winner (1998) : The Sopranos
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2010) : The Stars in the Bright Sky
James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (2012) : The Deadman's Pedal

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors