New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Jean Plaidy's picture

Jean Plaidy

(Eleanor Alice Burford Hibbert)
UK flag (1906 - 1993)

aka Eleanor Burford, Philippa Carr, Elbur Ford, Victoria Holt, Kathleen Kellow, Anna Percival, Ellalice Tate

Eleanor Alice Burford, Mrs. George Percival Hibbert, was one of the preeminent English authors of historical fiction for most of the twentieth century. She used eight pennames during her career and many of her readersunder one penname never suspected her other identities. In 1941, she began signing her novels with her maiden name: Eleanor Burford, later she createdher first and most prolific pseudonym: Jean Plaidy. In the 1950's she used the pseudonyms: Elbur Ford, Kathleen Kellow and Ellalice Tate. In 1960, shecreated the pseudonyms: Anna Percival and the popular Victoria Holt. In 1972, she created her last pseudonym Philippa Carr. (Some of her novels werereedited as different pseudonyms)

Eleanor Alice Burford was born on September 01, 1906 in Kensington, London.Her father, Joseph Burford, was something of an odd-job man, with no steady profession, but he quickly passed on his great love of books to his youngdaughter. She was an avid reader from the age of four onwards. In her early twenties, she married a leather merchant, George Percival Hibbert, whoshared her love of books and reading.

She died on January 18, 1993 at sea, somewhere between Greece and Port Said, Egypt. By the time of her death, the novels of Jean Plaidy had sold morethan 14 million copies worldwide. Her last novel The Black Opal as Victoria Holt was published posthumously, under this pseudonym, she sold 56 millon copies and as Phillipa Carr, 3 million.
Tudor Saga
1. Uneasy Lies the Head (1982)
     aka To Hold the Crown
2. Katharine, the Virgin Widow (1961)
3. The Shadow of the Pomegranate (1962)
4. The King's Secret Matter (1962)
5. Murder Most Royal (1949)
     aka King's Pleasure
6. Saint Thomas' Eve (1954)
     aka The King's Confidante
7. The Sixth Wife (1953)
8. The Thistle and the Rose (1963)
9. Mary, Queen of France (1964)
10. The Spanish Bridegroom (1954)
     aka For a Queen's Love
11. Gay Lord Robert (1955)
     aka Lord Robert / A Favorite of the Queen

Catherine De Medici
1. Madame Serpent (1951)
2. The Italian Woman (1952)
     aka The Unholy Woman
3. Queen Jezebel (1953)
Catherine De Medici (omnibus) (1969)

Mary Stuart, Queen of Scots
2. The Captive Queen of Scots (1963)



Queens of England
1. Myself My Enemy (1983)
     aka Loyal in Love
2. Queen of This Realm (1985)
3. Victoria Victorious (1985)
4. The Lady in the Tower (1986)
5. The Courts of Love (1987)
6. In the Shadow of the Crown (1988)
7. The Queen's Secret (1989)
8. The Reluctant Queen (1990)
9. The Pleasures of Love (1991)
     aka The Merry Monarch's Wife
10. William's Wife (1992)
     aka The Queen's Devotion
11. The Rose Without a Thorn (1992)

Together They Ride (1945)
Beyond the Blue Mountains (1947)
The Flesh and the Devil (1950) (as by Elbur Ford)
The Goldsmith's Wife (1950)
     aka The King's Mistress
Poison in Pimlico (1950) (as by Elbur Ford)
The Bed Disturbed (1952) (as by Elbur Ford)
Danse Macabre (1952) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
Daughter of Satan (1952)
Rooms at Mrs. Oliver's (1952) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
Evil in the House (1953) (as by Elbur Ford)
     aka Such Bitter Business
Lilith (1954) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
It Began in Vauxhall Gardens (1955) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
     aka Melisande
Call of the Blood (1956) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
Defenders of the Faith (1956) (as by Ellalice Tate)
Rochester (1957) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
The Scarlet Cloak (1957) (as by Ellalice Tate)
The Queen of Diamonds (1958) (as by Ellalice Tate)
Madame du Barry (1959) (as by Ellalice Tate)
Milady Charlotte (1959) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
The Brides of Lanlory (1960) (as by Anna Percival)
The World's a Stage (1960) (as by Kathleen Kellow)
Meg Roper (1961)
This Was a Man (1961) (as by Ellalice Tate)
     aka The King's Adventurer: Captain John Smith And Pocahontas
Evergreen Gallant (1965)
Katharine of Aragon (1968)
The Spanish Inquisition (1978)
Story of Elizabeth I (1984)

Search for