book cover of Dead to Me
Added by 3 of our members

Dead to Me

(2017)
(The first book in the Kate Matthews series)
A novel by

 
 
How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still...

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends... Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

What readers are saying about Dead to Me:


I absolutely adored this book! An enthralling mystery, fast paced and thrilling; absolutely unputdownable. I did not want it to end and yet was frantically turning the pages to find out what was really going on. Brilliant writing. Loved Detective Kate Matthews - cannot wait for more books with her. So glad I discovered this incredible author.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A tense cat and mouse thriller that leaves your brain in a whirl!... Without giving away any spoilers, Watching Youhad the hairs on my neck on end as I checked and double checked my doors and windows were locked. The stalking element of this novel sent shivers down my spine!... It was certainly a fast paced and action filled plot, plenty of twists and turns and red herrings to keep the reader detectives amongst us happy!Chapter in My Life

‘A brilliant thriller that will keep you gripped and turning pages right to the end. I was also kept in suspense until the end. Highly recommend.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘The killer is on a rampage, leaving a trail of bodies with macabre clues that Kate must solve if she is to stop the killing. Intense and creepy.’ Cayo Costa, 5 stars

‘An enthralling, fast paced mystery that kept me hooked from the very start. The murders had me so intrigued and I was desperate to find out who was behind such twisted deaths… I really enjoyed reading this one and I would definitely read more of Stephen's work. Congratulations on a great book!Breakfast at Shelby’s

Wow this book was good, I really enjoyed it.  Kate is a very dedicated and driven police officer whose private life is a mess. You can’t help but like her. This book has a lot going for it; it is gritty, brutally honest in places and full of suspense. I really found this book hard to put down. It totally had me engaged right the way through. This is the first book that I have read by Stephen Edger and I am definitely going to check out his others… This was a cracking read!Bonnie’s Book Talk

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Stillhouse Lake
(Stillhouse Lake, book 1)
Rachel Caine
thumb
Pay Off
Stephen Leather
thumb
The Ritual Bath
(Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus, book 1)
Faye Kellerman

Used availability for Stephen Edger's Dead to Me

Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead To Me: A serial killer thriller (Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series)
Author(s): Stephen Edger
ISBN: 1-78681-195-2 / 978-1-78681-195-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead To Me: A serial killer thriller: Volume 1 (Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series)
Author(s): Stephen Edger
ISBN: 1-78681-306-8 / 978-1-78681-306-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead to Me: A Serial Killer Thriller: Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
Author(s): Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


August 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead to Me: A Serial Killer Thriller: Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
Author(s): Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead to Me: A Serial Killer Thriller: Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
Author(s): Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead to Me: A Serial Killer Thriller: Detective Kate Matthews Crime Thriller Series, Book 1
Author(s): Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dead to Me: A serial killer thriller (Detective Kate Matthews Book 1)
Author(s): Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU