book cover of The God is Not Willing
Added by 18 of our members

The God is Not Willing

(The first book in the Witness series)
A novel by

Many years have passed since three Teblor warriors brought carnage and chaos to the small lakeside settlement of Silver Lake. While the town has recovered, the legacy of that past horror remains, even if the Teblor tribes of the north no longer venture into the southlands. One of those three, Karsa Orlong, is now deemed to be a god, albeit an indifferent one. In truth, many new cults and religions have emerged across the Malazan world, including those who worship Coltaine, the Black-Winged God, and - popular among the Empire's soldiery - followers of the cult of Iskar Jarak, Guardian of the Dead.

A legion of Malazan marines is on the march towards Silver Lake. responding to intelligence that indicates the tribes beyond the border are stirring. The marines aren't quite sure what they're going to be facing but, while the Malazan military has evolved and these are not the marines of old, one thing hasn't changed: they'll handle whatever comes at them. Or die trying

Meanwhile, in the high mountains, where dwell the tribes of the Teblor, a new warleader has risen. Scarred by the deeds of Karsa Orlong, he intends to confront his god, even if he has to cut a bloody path through the Malazan Empire to do it. Higher in the mountains, a new threat has emerged, and now the Teblor are running out of time.
The long feared invasion is about to begin. And this time it won't be three simple warriors. This time thousands are poised to flood the lands of the south. And in their way, a single legion of Malazan marines . . .

It seems the past is about to revisit Silver Lake, and that is never a good thing . . .

'Erikson is an extraordinary writer . . . treat yourself.' STEPHEN R. DONALDSON

'A master of lost and forgotten epochs, a weaver of ancient epics.' SALON.COM

Acclaim for The Malazan Book of the Fallen:

'This masterwork of the imagination may be the high watermark of epic fantasy.' GLEN COOK

'Arguably the best fantasy series ever written . . . the quality and ambition of the ten books that make up The Malazan Book of the Fallen are unmatched within the genre.' FANTASYBOOKREVIEW

'Nobody does it better than Erikson . . . the best fantasy series around.' SFFWORLD

'In a league of his own in genre fiction terms - by turns lyrical, bawdy, introspective, poetical and blood-soaked . . . incredible.' BOOKGEEKS

'One of the most original and engrossing fantasy series of recent times.' INTERZONE

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

In the Eye of Heaven
(Tales of Durand, book 1)
David Keck
(Malazan Empire, book 6)
Ian C Esslemont
The Wisdom of Crowds
(Age of Madness, book 3)
Joe Abercrombie

Hardback Editions

November 2021 : USA Hardback

Title: The God is Not Willing (Witness, 1)
Author(s): Steven Erikson
ISBN: 0-7653-2359-1 / 978-0-7653-2359-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

July 2021 : UK Hardback

Title: The God is Not Willing: The First Tale of Witness
Author(s): Steven Erikson
ISBN: 1-78763-286-5 / 978-1-78763-286-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

July 2021 : UK Paperback

Title: The God is Not Willing: The First Tale of Witness
Author(s): Steven Erikson
ISBN: 1-78763-287-3 / 978-1-78763-287-5 (UK edition)
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2021 : USA Kindle edition

Title: The God is Not Willing (Witness Book 1)
Author(s): Steven Erikson
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   

July 2021 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The God is Not Willing: The First Tale of Witness
Author(s): Steven Erikson
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU