Stephen Donaldson's picture

Stephen Donaldson

(Stephen Reeder Donaldson)
USA flag (b.1947)

aka Reed Stephens

Stephen Donaldson was born in 1947 in Cleveland, Ohio. From the age of three until he was sixteen he lived in India, where his father worked as an orthopedic surgeon. He lives in New Mexico.

His first fantasy trilogy, 'The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever', was published in 1977 and rapidly became a classic, establishing Stephen Donaldson as one of the most important figures in modern fantasy. It was named Best Novel of the Year by the British Fantasy Society, and earned the author the John W. Campbell Award as best new writer. In 1980, his success continued with the publication of the first volume in his equally popular second trilogy, 'The Second Chronicles of Thomas Covenant'. His other bestselling work includes his first collection of short stories, 'Daughter of Regals', which has recently been reissued, and the two books in the bestselling Mordant's Need series, 'The Mirror of Her Dreams'and 'A Man Rides Through'.

His most recent work is the acclaimed Gap series, an epic five-volume science-fiction adventure that begins in 'The Real Story' and continues in 'Forbidden Knowledge', 'A Dark and Hungry God Arises', 'Chaos and Order' and, most recently, 'This Day All Gods Die', the latest in a long line of 'Sunday Times' top-ten bestsellers.

It was after hearing one of his father's speeches on leprosy that he conceived the character of Thomas Covenant. He has recently completed the bestselling 'Gap' series, a five-volume sf epic that has been hailed as 'the best work of his career'.

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Mystery
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Stephen Donaldson
Short stories
Animal Lover (1978)
The Lady in White (1978)
Mythological Beast (1979)
The Conqueror Worm (1983)
Unworthy of the Angel (1983)
Daughter of Regals [short story] (1984)
Ser Visal's Tale (1984)
What Makes Us Human (1984)
The Djinn Who Watches Over the Accursed (1985)
Reave the Just [short story] (1992)
The Woman Who Loved Pigs (1993)
The Kings of Tarshish Shall Bring Gifts (1995)
By Any Other Name (1998)
The Killing Stroke (1998)
Penance (1998)

John W. Campbell Best Book nominee (1978) : Lord Foul's Bane
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1978) : Lord Foul's Bane
British Fantasy Society Best Novel winner (1979) : Lord Foul's Bane
John W. Campbell Best New Author winner (1979)
John W. Campbell Best Book winner (1979) : Lord Foul's Bane
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (1981) : The Wounded Land
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (1983) : The One Tree
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : The Chaos and Order: The Gap into Madness
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : The This Day All Gods Die: The Gap into Ruin
World Fantasy Best Collection winner (2000) : Reave the Just: And Other Tales
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (2005) : The Runes of the Earth

Books about Stephen Donaldson
The Atlas of the Land (1985) by Karen W Fonstad
Stephen Donaldson (1997) by Melissa Barth
Stephen Donaldson recommends
An Alien Light (1987)
Nancy Kress
"Kress has the true storyteller's gift."
Burning Tears of Sassurum (1988)
(Naphar, book 3)
Sharon Baker
"Sharon Baker is incomparable!"
Mindsword's Story (1990)
(Book of the Lost Swords, book 6)
Fred Saberhagen
"One of the best writers in the business."
Drenai Tales (1991)
David Gemmell
"Has everything a fan of heroic fantasy could desire."
Lord of the Isles (1997)
(Lord of the Isles, book 1)
David Drake
"David Drake's work here is original, engrossing, and instantly credible."
Starfarers (1998)
Poul Anderson
"Anderson has produced more milestones in contemporary science fiction and fantasy than any one man is entitled to, but he writes with such integrity and imagination that it's impossible to begrudge him either the esteem of his readers or the admiration of his peers."
To Ride Hell's Chasm (2002)
Janny Wurts
"The world Janny Wurts writes about is wonderfully vivid."
Alphabet of Thorn (2004)
Patricia A McKillip
"There are no better writers than Patricia A McKillip."
Midnight Tides (2004)
(Malazan Book of the Fallen, book 5)
Steven Erikson
"The kind of epic narrative that will have you scrambling for more."
Cartomancy (2006)
(Age Of Discovery, book 2)
Michael A Stackpole
"Michael A. Stackpole is incapable of writing a book that isn't imaginative and intelligent."
Finch (2009)
(Ambergris, book 3)
Jeff VanderMeer
"I can't remember ever reading a book like Finch. Audacious... Extravagant... I'm impressed."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors