book cover of A Lady\'s Guide to Etiquette and Murder
Added by 15 of our members

A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder

(2018)
(The first book in the Countess of Harleigh Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Agatha Award Best First Book
Frances Wynn, the American-born Countess of Harleigh, enjoys more freedom as a widow than she did as a wife. After an obligatory year spent mourning her philandering husband, Reggie, she puts aside her drab black gowns, leaving the countryside and her money-grubbing in-laws behind. With her young daughter in tow, Frances rents a home in Belgravia and prepares to welcome her sister, Lily, arriving from New York - for her first London season.

No sooner has Frances begun her new life than the ghosts of her old one make an unwelcome appearance. The Metropolitan police receive an anonymous letter implicating Frances in her husband's death. Frances assures Inspector Delaney of her innocence, but she's also keen to keep him from learning the scandalous circumstances of Reggie's demise. As fate would have it, her dashing new neighbor, George Hazelton, is one of only two other people aware of the full story.

While busy with social engagements on Lily's behalf, and worrying if Reggie really was murdered, Frances learns of mysterious burglaries plaguing London's elite. The investigation brings death to her doorstep, and Frances rallies her wits, a circle of gossips, and the ever-chivalrous Mr. Hazelton to uncover the truth.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"A delightful tale of shenanigans among the British aristocracy. Lady Frances feels very real—not too smart and spunky but no shrinking violet either." - Rhys Bowen

"Dianne Freeman has penned a mystery that’s witty and fun, with just the right amount of danger and romance to keep you turning pages." - Alyssa Maxwell

"Lady Harleigh must rally the support of friends and an attractive neighbor to untangle her affairs in this engrossing tale of aristocratic intrigue. Freeman vividly portrays the opulence of late Victorian life among the British upper crust as Lady Harleigh takes us into the exclusive ballrooms and drawing rooms of London society in 1899. Deception and trickery abound and nothing is exactly as it seems." - Rosemary Simpson

"A fantastic blend of history, mystery and humor. I did not want to put it down. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Georgette Heyer." - Darcie Wilde


Similar books by other authors

thumb
An Act of Villainy
(Amory Ames Mystery, book 5)
Ashley Weaver
thumb
Lady Helena Investigates
(Scott-De Quincy Mysteries, book 1)
Jane Steen

Used availability for Dianne Freeman's A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (Countess of Harleigh Mysteries)
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
ISBN: 1-68324-892-9 / 978-1-68324-892-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery)
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
ISBN: 1-4967-1687-6 / 978-1-4967-1687-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery)
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
ISBN: 1-4967-1688-4 / 978-1-4967-1688-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kensington
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
ISBN: 1-5288-4702-4 / 978-1-5288-4702-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
Publisher: Lamplight Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
Publisher: Lamplight Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (Countess of Harleigh Mystery)
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
ISBN: 1-68441-280-3 / 978-1-68441-280-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder: Countess of Harleigh Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder: Countess of Harleigh Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Dianne Freeman
Publisher: Kensington Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU