book cover of A Lady\'s Guide to Etiquette and Murder
Added by 182 members
 

A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder

(2018)
(The first book in the Countess of Harleigh Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
2019 Lefty Award for Best Debut Mystery Novel
2019 Macavity Award for Best Historical Novel (nominee)
2019 Mary Higgins Clark Award (nominee)
2018 Agatha Award for Best First Novel

In this exciting historical mystery debut set in Victorian England, a wealthy young widow encounters the pleasures—and scandalous pitfalls—of a London social season . . .
 
Frances Wynn, the American-born Countess of Harleigh, enjoys more freedom as a widow than she did as a wife. With her young daughter in tow, Frances rents a home in Belgravia and prepares to welcome her sister, Lily, arriving from New York—for her first London season.
 
But no sooner has Frances begun her new life than the Metropolitan police receive an anonymous letter implicating Frances in her husband’s death. Frances assures Inspector Delaney of her innocence, but she’s also keen to keep him from learning the scandalous circumstances of Reggie’s demise. As fate would have it, her dashing new neighbor, George Hazelton, is one of only two other people aware of the full story.
 
While busy with social engagements on Lily’s behalf, and worrying if Reggie really
was murdered, Frances rallies her wits, a circle of gossips, and the ever-chivalrous Mr. Hazelton to uncover the truth. A killer is in their midst and Frances must unmask the villain before Lily’s season—and their lives—come to a most unseemly end . . .
 
“This lighthearted debut tale of mystery, love, and a delightful sleuth will leave you wanting more—which is presumably just what Freeman had in mind.” Kirkus Reviews


Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"A delightful tale of shenanigans among the British aristocracy. Lady Frances feels very real—not too smart and spunky but no shrinking violet either." - Rhys Bowen

"Dianne Freeman has penned a mystery that’s witty and fun, with just the right amount of danger and romance to keep you turning pages." - Alyssa Maxwell

"Lady Harleigh must rally the support of friends and an attractive neighbor to untangle her affairs in this engrossing tale of aristocratic intrigue. Freeman vividly portrays the opulence of late Victorian life among the British upper crust as Lady Harleigh takes us into the exclusive ballrooms and drawing rooms of London society in 1899. Deception and trickery abound and nothing is exactly as it seems." - Rosemary Simpson

"A fantastic blend of history, mystery and humor. I did not want to put it down. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Georgette Heyer." - Darcie Wilde


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dianne Freeman's A Lady's Guide to Etiquette and Murder


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors