book cover of A Death of No Importance
Added by 16 of our members

A Death of No Importance

(2018)
(The first book in the Jane Prescott series)
A novel by

 
 

The woman no one sees, but who witnesses everything, is the ideal person to solve a murder…

Invisible until she's needed, Jane Prescott has perfected the art of serving as a lady’s maid to Manhattan's elite. Jane takes up a position with the Benchley family – a family of ‘new money’– who cause outrage when their daughter Charlotte becomes engaged to notorious playboy Norrie, the son of the eminent Newsome family.

When Norrie Newsome is found murdered at a party, Jane realises she is uniquely positioned to solve the crime with her access behind the scenes of high society. Many people held grudges against Norrie, and Jane knows that amongst both the upper classes and the city's underbelly, morals can become cheap in the wrong hands. As scandal and violence simmer beneath the surface of New York, can Jane solve the mystery that threatens to result in more deaths?

A gripping and suspenseful historical murder mystery, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Bailey and Emily Organ.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"The simmering tensions among New York City's wealthiest families - the rivalries, lies, and even the criminal acts - come to a boil in A Death of No Importance, and Jane, a highly intelligent young maid, is the one who sees more than she should the night that someone from the smart set is viciously murdered. A suspenseful, moving, sharply observed mystery that illuminates a fascinating time in America's history, when there was indeed ugliness beneath the beauty of the Gilded Age." - Nancy Bilyeau

"Mariah Fredericks is the best at creating compulsively addictive, fresh, twisty reads." - Meg Cabot

"A taut, suspenseful, and complex murder mystery with gorgeous period detail." - Susan Elia MacNeal

"A sharp, engaging, and intimate treat of a historical mystery. Jane Prescott is a smart detective and a keen observer of both the upper crust and the dark underbelly of early twentieth century New York society." - Laura Joh Rowland


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Gilded Shroud
(Lady Fan Mystery, book 1)
Elizabeth Bailey
thumb
Sweet Revenge
(Lady Arianna Hadley Mystery, book 1)
Andrea Penrose
thumb
The Body in the Garden
(Lily Adler Mystery, book 1)
Katharine Schellman
thumb
An Invitation To Murder
(Lady Katherine Regency Mystery, book 1)
Leighann Dobbs and Harmony Williams

Used availability for Mariah Fredericks's A Death of No Importance

Hardback Editions

April 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Novel (A Jane Prescott Novel)
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
ISBN: 1-250-15297-6 / 978-1-250-15297-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Novel (A Jane Prescott Novel (1))
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
ISBN: 1-250-30655-8 / 978-1-250-30655-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Mystery
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Mystery
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Mystery
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance (Jane Prescott Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Death of No Importance: A Novel (A Jane Prescott Novel Book 1)
Author(s): Mariah Fredericks
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA