New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Murder in Honolulu

Murder in Honolulu

(A book in the Skye Delaney Mystery series)
A novel by

MURDER IN HONOLULU is an island mystery novel set in Hawaii.

Skye Delaney is a private investigator, security consultant, and ex-cop who lives in Waikiki. When her ex-husband and former prosecutor turned businessman, Carter Delaney, asks her to find out if his new wife Darlene is having an affair, Skye reluctantly agrees to take the case. Little does she know that it will turn out to be far more than infidelity.

Skye confirms that Darlene is not only having an affair but also doing drugs. But before Skye can tell this to Carter, she finds him dead in her Jacuzzi bathtub with an apparent suicide note stuffed in his mouth.

Did he really take his own life with so much to live for? Or was Carter murdered?

The one thing she knows for sure is that her German Shepherd Ollie bit an intruder who happened to have AB negative blood. As did Carter. Coincidence?

Skye's current love interest is Ridge Larsen, a homicide detective for the Honolulu Police Department, who also happens to be assigned to this case once it becomes official that Carter Delaney was murdered.

As Skye continues to get deeper and deeper into the investigation of Carter's death, it becomes apparent to her that it her ex had many secrets and just as many enemies, making him a marked man. These included working for the Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney as a consultant on a case involving a crime syndicate, being a gambling addict, and being in debt to a loan shark.

While the bodies continue to pile up, Skye puts her neck on the line to find out the truth and nail a ruthless killer who has targeted her for death; even as she tries to maintain her professional objectivity and balance it with her private and romantic life.

MURDER IN HONOLULU is the first book in an exciting new mystery series, featuring Skye Delaney.


"Gripping, tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Author neatly contrasts natural beauty of tropical paradise with ugliness of murder and aftermath."--John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author of Mister X on MURDER IN MAUI

"A police procedural of the highest order, mixing equal parts Sue Grafton and Jeffrey Deaver with a sprinkling of Patricia Cornwell."--Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong Justice on MURDER IN MAUI

"Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations."--Midwest Book Review on STATE'S EVIDENCE

"A gripping account of the murders committed by husband-and-wife serial killers Gerald and Charlene Gallego. Compelling reading."--Gary C. King, author of Blood Lust on THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS

"A model of crime fiction.... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices."--Statesman Journal on JUSTICE SERVED

"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein."--Harriet Klausner on PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE

"It gets no better than this! Guaranteed to hold onto its readers! It was so gripping that I forgot to breathe a couple of times!"--Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews on DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL

"An interesting blend of classic film noir and rough, modern cinema.... Quick action and tight dialogue make it a jolting thriller, but it's also got the psychological tightness of a good mystery puzzle." - Robert A. Sloan, author of Raven Dance on DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY

Used availability for R Barri Flowers's Murder in Honolulu

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

June 2012 : USA Paperback
Title: Murder in Honolulu: A Skye Delaney Mystery
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
ISBN: 1-4776-3478-9 / 978-1-4776-3478-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

June 2012 : USA Audio edition
Title: Murder in Honolulu: A Skye Delaney Mystery
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R. Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon   

June 2012 : UK Audio edition
Title: Murder in Honolulu: A Skye Delaney Mystery
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R. Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Murder in Honolulu (Skye Delaney Mysteries, Book 1)
Author(s): R Barri Flowers
Publisher: R. Barri Flowers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for