New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Game's Afoot

(2015)
(The first book in the Band of Brothers series)
A Novella by

 
"Escapism at its best... A great read that tells much about the style of war and how the individuals fought, I can recommend this!" - Michael Jecks, author of Fields of Glory.

1415.

England stands on the brink of war with France.


Henry V receives intelligence, through his agent Thomas Chaucer that the French intend to re-forge their old alliance with Scotland.

The king orders Chaucer and veteran archer Robert Cooper to travel across the border and intercept a French agent, Reynard of Troyes, before he can deliver the gold which will fund Scotland's war with England.

Chaucer also learns of a plot to murder the man that England cannot afford to go to war without. He orders the man-at-arms, Edward Fordham, to remain in the capital, solve the mystery and stop the assassin.

But all is not what it seems.

Some wars are fought in the shadows as well as on the battlefield...

Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot is a story is action, intrigue and historical insight. It is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and George Macdonald Fraser.

'A rattling good yarn, requiring only the minimum of suspension of belief, and leaves one eagerly anticipating the next instalment of the adventures of the team as they accompany the King to Harfleur' - Major Gordon Corrigan

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for Band of Brothers: The Complete Campaigns:



"The great thing about this series is the characters. The novellas themselves are a wonderful confection of tales from the period, with aspects of adventure stories from Hornblower to Buchan, but it is the characters of the archers and Chaucer himself that bring them to life. Richard Foreman has a deft touch when it comes to depicting his men, whether in a tavern, brothel or battle. Each book is a strong novella, but each is linked by one theme which ties the three into one brilliant story... I can recommend this!" - Michael Jecks, author of Fields of Glory.

Praise for Augustus: Son of Rome



' Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings



'Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.' - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including Augustus: Son of Rome and the Sword of Rome and Sword of Empire series of historical novellas. He is also the author of Warsaw , a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London. You can find him tweeting at @rforemanauthor.

Genre: Historical
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Fire & Sword
(Throne of the Caesars, book 3)

Harry Sidebottom

The Ill-Made Knight
(Chivalry, book 1)

Christian Cameron

Blood on the Sand
(Vintener trilogy, book 2)

Michael Jecks

Blood of the Innocents
(Vintener trilogy, book 3)

Michael Jecks
 
Used availability for Richard Foreman's The Game's Afoot


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

December 2015 : Paperback
thumbTitle: Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-5194-9030-5 / 978-1-5194-9030-8
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Endeavour Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for