New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Game\'s Afoot

The Game's Afoot

(2015)
(The first book in the Band of Brothers series)
A Novella by

 
 
'Escapism at its best... A great read that tells much about the style of war and how the individuals fought.' - Michael Jecks.

1415

England stands on the brink of war with France.

Henry V receives intelligence, through his agent Thomas Chaucer, that the French intend to re-forge their old alliance with Scotland.

The king orders Chaucer and veteran archer Robert Cooper to travel across the border and intercept a French agent, Reynard of Troyes, before he can deliver the gold which will fund Scotland's war with England.

Chaucer also learns of a plot to murder the man that England cannot afford to go to war without. He orders the man-at-arms, Edward Fordham, to remain in the capital, solve the mystery and stop the assassin.

But all is not what it seems.

Some wars are fought in the shadows as well as on the battlefield...

'Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot' is a story is action, intrigue and historical insight. It is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and George Macdonald Fraser.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for 'Raffles: The Complete Innings'

'Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.' - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Sword of Rome and Sword of Empire series of historical novellas. He is also the author of Warsaw , a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London. You can find him tweeting at @rforemanauthor.

Genre: Historical    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Viking Fire
(Conquest Trilogy, book 2)
Justin Hill
thumb
Clash of Empires
(Clash of Empires, book 1)
Ben Kane

Used availability for Richard Foreman's The Game's Afoot

Paperback Editions

May 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-982986-94-8 / 978-1-982986-94-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


December 2015 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot
Author(s): Richard Foreman
ISBN: 1-5194-9030-5 / 978-1-5194-9030-8
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Band of Brothers: The Game's Afoot
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA