Dulcie Gray's picture

Dulcie Gray

UK flag (b.1919)

Veteran British actress Dulcie Gray's career is often linked with that of her late actor/husband Michael Denison, with whom she appeared frequently on stage, TV and in films. Dulcie was born in Malaya, where her father was a lawyer and sent her to boarding school in England at quite an early age. Originally interested in dance until the lure of the theatre altered her direction, she attended the Webber Douglas Drama School where she met her future husband. Dulcie became a London stage star with dramatic roles in "The Little Foxes" as Alexandra, and "Brighton Rock." From there she slowly moved into such popular Gainborough Studio films as Madonna of the Seven Moons (1945), A Place of One's Own (1945) and They Were Sisters (1945), her first lead. With husband Michael, she later appeared in My Brother Jonathan (1948), The Glass Mountain (1949) and Angels One Five (1952) to generous reviews. However, like her husband, the theatre was her true calling and she would stay committed to it for most of her career, making relatively few films overall. She and Michael performed together in 26 stage productions, including "Candida" and "An Ideal Husband". Dulcie later turned to writing, authoring 24 books, most of which are crime novels. She earned TV success back in England with Howards' Way (1985) (in which Michael also starred) - a major hit in the late '80s -- and, following his death in 1998, she returned to the theatre playing delightful elderlies in such fare as "The Ladykillers" and "The Lady Vanishes".
   Murder On the Stairs (1957)
   Murder in Melbourne (1958)
   Baby Face (1959)
   Murder On a Saturday (1961)
   Murder in Mind (1963)
   The Devil Wore Scarlet (1964)
   No Quarter for a Star (1964)
   The Murder of Love (1967)
   Murder On Honeymoon (1969)
   For Richer for Richer (1970)
   Deadly Lampshade (1971)
   Understudy to Murder (1972)
   Dead Giveaway (1974)
   Ride On A Tiger (1975)
   Death In Denims (1977)
   Dark Calypso (1979)
   The Glanville Women (1982)
   Anna Starr (1984)
   Mirror Image (1987)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
   Stage Door Fright (1977)
Plays show
Non fiction show
Books containing stories by Dulcie Gray
The Mammoth Book of Great Detective Stories (1985)
(The Mammoth Book of ...)
edited by
Herbert Van Thal
The 19th Pan Book of Horror Stories (1978)
(Pan Book of Horror Stories, book 19)
edited by
Herbert Van Thal
The Second Bedside Book of Strange Stories (1976)
(Bedside Book of Strange Stories, book 2)
edited by
Herbert Van Thal

More books 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors