Gloria Goldreich's picture
34 books added

Gloria Goldreich

Gloria Goldreich graduated from Brandeis University and did graduate work in Jewish history at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. She was a coordinator in the Department of Jewish Education at National Hadassah and served as Public Relations Director of the Baruch College of the City University of New York.

While still an undergraduate at Brandeis, she was a winner of the Seventeen magazine short story contest where her first nationally published work appeared. Subsequently, her short fiction and critical essays have appeared in Commentary, McCalls, Redbook, Ladies Home Journal, Mademoiselle, Ms., Chatelaine, Hadassah Magazine and numerous other magazines and journals. Her work has been widely anthologized and translated.

She is the author of a series of children's books on women in the professions entitled What Can She Be? She has also written novels for young adults, Ten Traditional Jewish Stories, and she edited a prize-winning anthology A Treasury of Jewish Literature.

Her novel, Leah's Journey won the National Jewish Book Award for fiction in 1979, and her second novel Four Days won the Federation Arts and Letters Award. Her other novels include Promised Land, This Burning Harvest, Leah's Children, West to Eden, Mothers, Years of Dreams and That Year of Our War. Her books have been selections of the Book of the Month Club, the Literary Guild and the Troll Book Club.

She has lectured throughout the United States and in Canada.

Gloria Goldreich is married to an attorney and is the mother of two daughters and a son, and the grandmother of six grandchildren.

Genres: Historical
   Season of Discovery (1976)
   Leahs Journey (1978)
   Lori (1979)
   Four Days (1980)
   This Promised Land (1982)
   This Burning Harvest (1983)
   Leah's Children (1985)
   West to Eden (1987)
   Mothers (1992)
   Years of Dreams (1992)
   That Year of Our War (1994)
   Walking Home (2004)
   Dinner with Anna Karenina (2005)
   Open Doors (2008)
   The Guests of August (2009)
   The Bridal Chair (2015)
   After Melanie (2019)
   The Paris Children (2020)
Anthologies edited
Non fiction show
Gloria Goldreich recommends
The Girl in His Shadow (2021)
Audrey Blake
"A suspenseful story of a courageous young woman determined to become a surgeon in repressive Victorian England. Fluidly written, impeccably researched, The Girl in His Shadow is a memorable literary gift to be read, reread, and treasured."
Trouble the Water (2018)
Jacqueline Friedland
"In a narrative tapestry woven of brilliant threads of history and drama, Jacqueline Friedland introduces her readers to seventeen-year-old British-born Abigail Milton; her generous but reluctant benefactor, Douglas Elling; and the complex world of antebellum Charleston. The evil of slavery, the nascent abolitionist movement, and the courage of an operative of the underground railroad are explored against the background of the vanished world of debutante cotillions, social intrigue, and the slow maturity and melding of skillfully drawn protagonists. Friedland's research is impeccable, her writing fluid. Trouble the Water is that rare pedagogic novel that engages as it teaches."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors