Gail Godwin's picture

Gail Godwin

USA flag (b.1937)

Gail Godwin is a three-time National Book Award finalist and the bestselling author of twelve critically acclaimed novels, including Unfinished Desires, A Mother and Two Daughters, Violet Clay, Father Melancholy's Daughter, Evensong, The Good Husband, and Evenings at Five. She is also the author of The Making of a Writer: Journals, 1961--1963, the first of two volumes, edited by Rob Neufeld. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, National Endowment for the Arts grants for both fiction and libretto writing, and the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She has written libretti for ten musical works with the composer Robert Starer. She lives in Woodstock, New York.

Genres: Historical, Mystery, Literary Fiction
Series contributed to
Non fiction
   Heart (2001)
   The Making of a Writer (2006)
   The Making of a Writer Vol 2 (2010) (with Rob Neufeld)
   Publishing (2015)
Gail Godwin recommends
A Land More Kind Than Home (2012)
Wiley Cash
"This novel has great cumulative power. Before I knew it I was grabbed by the ankle and pulled down into a full-blown Greek tragedy."
We Shall Not All Sleep (2017)
Estep Nagy
"This is an amazing book. It's rare to encounter such mature insight into as interesting and complex characters as these. Anyone who is fascinated by human crossovers and transformations will be thankful for We Shall Not All Sleep."

Visitors also looked at

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors