Neil M Gunn's picture

Neil M Gunn

(Neil Miller Gunn)
Scotland (1891 - 1973)

Neil Gunn (1891-1973), one of Scotland's most prolific and distinguished novelists, wrote over a period that spanned the Recession, the political crises of the 1920's and 1930's, and the Second World War and its aftermath. Although nearly all his 20 novels are set in the Highlands of Scotland, he is not a regional author in the narrow sense of that description; his novels reflect a search for meaning in troubled times, both past and present, a search that leads him into the realms of philosophy, archaeology, folk tradition and metaphysical speculation.

Born in the coastal village of Dunbeath, Caithness, the son of a successful fishing boat skipper, Gunn was educated at the local village primary school and privately in Galloway. In 1911 he entered the Civil Service and spent some time in both London and Edinburgh before returning to the North as a customs and excise officer based (after a short spell in Caithness) in Inverness. Before voluntary retirement from Government service in 1937 to become a full-time writer, he had embarked on a literary career with considerable success.

Genres: Mystery
Non fiction
no image availablethumbthumb
Anthologies containing stories by Neil M Gunn
no image available
Short stories
The Sea

Saltire Literary Awards Best Book winner (1937) : Highland River

Books about Neil M Gunn
Essays on Neil M. Gunn (1971) by David Morrison
Neil M. Gunn (1986) by Francis Hart
Novels of Neil M. Gunn (1987) by Margery McCulloch
Neil M. Gunn (1992) by Ian Grimble
Neil M. Gunn (1993) by Joy Hendry
thumbthumbno image availableno image available

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors