Peter May's picture
Followed by 244 of our members

Peter May

Scotland (b.1951)

Peter May was born and raised in Scotland. He was an award-winning journalist at the age of twenty-one and a published novelist at twenty-six. When his first book was adapted as a major drama series for the BCC, he quit journalism and during the high-octane fifteen years that followed, became one of Scotland's most successful television dramatists. He created three prime-time drama series, presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland as script editor and producer, and worked on more than 1,000 episodes of ratings-topping drama before deciding to leave television to return to his first love, writing novels.

He has won several literature awards in France, received the USA's Barry Award for The Blackhouse, the first in his internationally bestselling Lewis Trilogy; and in 2014 was awarded the ITV Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read of the Year award for Entry Island. Peter now lives in South-West France with his wife, writer Janice Hally.

Genres: Mystery, General Fiction, Thriller
Non fiction
Barry Awards Best Novel winner (2013) : The Blackhouse
McIlvanney Prize Best Novel winner (2014) : Entry Island
Macavity Awards Best Novel nominee (2015) : The Lewis Man

Peter May recommends
Cruel Mercy (2017)
(DS Aector McAvoy, book 6)
David Mark
"Mark writes badness beautifully."
Aurore (2017)
(Wars Within, book 2)
Graham Hurley
"So well-written you can smell the sweat and taste the fear."
Bloody January (2017)
(Harry McCoy, book 1)
Alan Parks
"1970s Glasgow hewn from flesh and drawn in blood."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors