William Golding's picture

William Golding

(William Gerald Golding)
UK flag (1911 - 1993)

British novelist William Golding wrote the critically acclaimed classic Lord of the Flies, and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1983. 

Golding spent the last few years of his life quietly living with his wife, Ann Brookfield, at their house near Falmouth, Cornwall, where he continued to toil at his writing.

On June 19, 1993, Golding died of a heart attack in Perranarworthal, Cornwall. He was survived by his wife and their two children, David and Judith. After Golding passed away, his completed manuscript for The Double Tongue was published posthumously.

Among the most successful novels of Goldings writing career were Rites of Passage (winner of the 1980 Booker McConnell Prize), Pincher Martin, Free Fall and The Pyramid. While Golding was mainly a novelist, his body of work also includes poetry, plays, essays and short stories.

Genres: Historical, Young Adult Fiction
   Lord of the Flies (1954)
   The Inheritors (1955)
   Pincher Martin (1956)
     aka The Two Deaths of Christopher Martin
   Free Fall (1959)
   The Spire (1964)
   The Pyramid (1967)
   Darkness Visible (1979)
   The Paper Men (1984)
   The Double Tongue (1995)
   Poems (poems) (1934)
Non fiction
Short stories
Envoy Extraordinary (1956)
Clonk Clonk (1971)
The Scorpion God [short story] (1971)

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1979) : Darkness Visible
Booker Prize Best Novel winner (1980) : Rites of Passage
Nobel Prize in Literature Lifetime Achievement winner (1983)

Books about William Golding
William Golding (1982) by Bernard Bergonzi and J S Whitely
William Golding (1987) by Bernard F Dick
Brodie's Notes on William Golding's Lord of the Flies (1992) by G Handley
William Golding (1994) by R A Gekoski and P A Grogan
William Golding (1994) by Pralhad A Kulkarni
William Golding (1994) by Kevin McCarron
A Study Course on William Golding's Lord of the Flies (1995) by Andrew Bent
William Golding's Lord of the Flies (1996) by Harold Bloom
William Golding - the Unmoved (2000) by V Tiger
William Golding (2002) by M Kinkead-Weekes
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
no image availablethumbno image availablethumb
no image availablethumb

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors