book cover of The Gifted School
Added by 4 of our members

The Gifted School

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Ambitious parents, wilful kids, and the pursuit of prestige - no matter the cost... A gripping page-turner, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

'More than a touch of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies' The Observer



In the peaceful, privileged community of Crystal, Colorado, a group of close friends are raising their families in harmony.

Until one day, news begins to spread that a 'gifted school' will be opening its doors in their town. There are only a few prestigious places, and the competition will be ferocious.

As parents and children begin to compete, cracks start to show in this picturesque community. Fault lines appear between friends and siblings, in marriages and careers, as old resentments start to simmer and long-buried secrets threaten to detonate under the pressure...

Just how far will these parents go to give their children a good education, and what will be the ultimate price?

Praise for The Gifted School . . .<font>

'Wise and addictive... an incisive inspection of privilege, race and class'
NEW YORK TIMES


'Snapping with tension,this is a book for our times. It will push a lot of buttons for a lot of people'
SHARI LAPENA, AUTHOR OF THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR


'Like Big Little Lies with standardized testing... a deeply pleasurable read'
MEG WOLITZER, AUTHOR OF THE FEMALE PERSUASION


'Exposes how easily a mix of good intentions, self-delusions, and minor sins can escalate'
THE NEW YORKER


'The summer read thatpredicted the college-admissions scandal'
THE WALL STREET JOURNAL


'Timely and relevant'
OPRAHMAG.COM


'A (hilariously) timely bookthat explores the lengths to which privileged parents will go to get their kids a top education'
NEW YORK POST


'On the pulse of modern times'
MAGIC BOOK CLUB


'If you loved the shananigans of the pushy parents in TV hitBig Little Lies you'll love this scorching novel . . . bitingly dark'
PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH


'Relevant and relatable'
I PAPER


Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Bruce Holsinger's The Gifted School

Hardback Editions

October 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gifted School
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 1-4722-7201-3 / 978-1-4722-7201-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 0-525-53496-2 / 978-0-525-53496-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2020 : USA Paperback

Title: The Gifted School
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 0-525-53497-0 / 978-0-525-53497-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin LCC US
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost...
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 1-4722-7150-5 / 978-1-4722-7150-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 0-593-10437-4 / 978-0-593-10437-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
ISBN: 0-593-08450-0 / 978-0-593-08450-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin LCC US
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon   


October 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost...
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gifted School: A Novel
Author(s): Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA