book cover of Evvie Drake Starts Over

Evvie Drake Starts Over

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
From the host of NPR's Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast comes a heartfelt debut about the unlikely relationship between a young woman who's lost her husband and a Major League pitcher who's lost his game.

"Charming, hopeful, and gently romantic.... Evvie Drake is great company." (Rainbow Rowell, number one New York Times best-selling author of Eleanor & Park)

In a sleepy seaside town in Maine, recently widowed Eveleth "Evvie" Drake rarely leaves her large, painfully empty house nearly a year after her husband's death in a car crash. Everyone in town, even her best friend, Andy, thinks grief keeps her locked inside, and Evvie doesn't correct them.

Meanwhile, in New York City, Dean Tenney, former Major League pitcher and Andy's childhood best friend, is wrestling with what miserable athletes living out their worst nightmares call the "yips": he can't throw straight anymore, and even worse, he can't figure out why. As the media storm heats up, an invitation from Andy to stay in Maine seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button on Dean's future.

When he moves into an apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's late husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's baseball career. Rules, though, have a funny way of being broken - and what starts as an unexpected friendship soon turns into something more. To move forward, Evvie and Dean will have to reckon with their pasts - the friendships they've damaged, the secrets they've kept - but in life, as in baseball, there's always a chance - up until the last out.

A joyful, hilarious, and hope-filled debut, Evvie Drake Starts Over will have you cheering for the two most unlikely comebacks of the year - and will leave you wanting more from Linda Holmes.

Advance praise for Evvie Drake Starts Over

"A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own.... Linda Holmes's voice is lively and warm, the setting of small-town Maine is pitch-perfect, and the character of Evvie Drake is refreshing in her imperfections - an absolute delight." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones & the Six)

"Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway.... A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller." (Kirkus Reviews)



Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Proposal
(Wedding Date, book 2)
Jasmine Guillory
thumb
Wayward Son
(Simon Snow, book 2)
Rainbow Rowell

Hardback Editions

August 2019 : USA Library Binding

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Linda Holmes
ISBN: 1-4328-6570-6 / 978-1-4328-6570-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
ISBN: 1-5293-9639-5 / 978-1-5293-9639-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel
Author(s): Linda Holmes
ISBN: 0-525-61924-0 / 978-0-525-61924-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
ISBN: 1-4736-7927-3 / 978-1-4736-7927-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
ISBN: 1-4736-7929-X / 978-1-4736-7929-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel
Author(s): Linda Holmes
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA