book cover of Do No Harm
Added by 11 of our members

Do No Harm

(2002)
A novel by

 
 
The Barnes & Noble Review
Gregg Andrew Hurwitz's first two novels, The Tower and Minutes to Burn, established him as a rising star among thriller writers. With Do No Harm, Hurwitz makes an impressive entry into the crowded field of medical suspense, delivering a fast-paced, often frightening story that will appeal to fans of Robin Cook, Michael Palmer, and Tess Gerritsen.

In the opening paragraph, popular UCLA Medical Center staffer Nancy Jenkins runs screaming into the emergency room, having been attacked by an assailant who tossed a bottle of lye into her face, blinding and disfiguring her. Chief of Staff David Spier quickly takes control of the situation and tries to restore a semblance of calm among Nancy's friends and colleagues. But a second attack on another staff member soon follows, and it becomes clear that someone is targeting the medical center. Panic, outrage, and intense media scrutiny inevitably ensue. Then, in a supremely ironic twist, the assailant -- a deeply disturbed loner named Clyde -- is captured and delivered to UCLA's ER for treatment of his injuries, so that Dr. Spier finds himself forced to give medical assistance to the man who has terrorized his hospital.

Hurwitz is a resourceful, fluent storyteller, and he pushes the narrative along at a breakneck clip. His central characters -- the troubled, dedicated Spier and the thoroughly demented Clyde -- are credibly and carefully developed, as is the large and varied supporting cast. Hurwitz has a gift for portraying aberrant states of mind and a genuine feel for the everyday stresses of hospital life. Do No Harm is colorful, authentic, and incredibly hard to put down. Bill Sheehan

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Daylight
(Atlee Pine, book 3)
David Baldacci
thumb
A Thin Dark Line
(Broussard and Fourcade, book 1)
Tami Hoag
thumb
Old Bones
(Nora Kelly, book 1)
Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston

Used availability for Gregg Hurwitz's Do No Harm

Hardback Editions

July 2002 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 0-06-000886-5 / 978-0-06-000886-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


2002 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 0-7394-2904-3 / 978-0-7394-2904-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   


Paperback Editions

July 2003 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 0-06-000887-3 / 978-0-06-000887-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTorch
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 1-978629-48-6 / 978-1-978629-48-6
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 1-978629-49-4 / 978-1-978629-49-3
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


2002 : USA Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: Do No Harm
Author(s): Gregg Hurwitz
ISBN: 0-7366-8752-1 / 978-0-7366-8752-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Books on Tape
Availability: Amazon