Tess Gerritsen's picture

Tess Gerritsen

USA flag (b.1953)

Bestselling author Tess Gerritsen is also a physician, and she brings to her novels her first-hand knowledge of emergency and autopsy rooms. But her interests span far more than medical topics. As an anthropology student at Stanford University, she catalogued centuries-old human remains, and she continues to travel the world driven by her fascination with ancient cultures and bizarre natural phenomena. She started off her writing career with romance novels, now published by Mira. But in 1996 she switched to writing thrillers with her novel Harvest, inspired by the anger she felt about the illegal trade in human organs. It was her first New York Times bestseller. Since then she has become an internationally bestselling author of crime novels, and her thriller series starring Boston detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles is the basis for the hit television series "Rizzoli & isles." She lives with her husband in Maine.

Genres: Mystery, Romance, Romantic Suspense, Thriller
New Books
November 2023

The Spy Coast
(Martini Club , book 1)
Tavistock Family
   1. In Their Footsteps (1994)
   2. Thief of Hearts (1995)

     aka Stolen

Rizzoli & Isles
   1. The Surgeon (2001)
   2. The Apprentice (2002)
   3. The Sinner (2003)
   4. Body Double (2004)
   5. Vanish (2005)
   6. The Mephisto Club (2006)
   7. The Keepsake (2008)

     aka Keeping the Dead

   8. Ice Cold (2010)

     aka The Killing Place

   8.5. Freaks (2011)
   9. The Silent Girl (2011)
   9.5. John Doe (2012)
   10. Last to Die (2012)
   11. Die Again (2014)
   12. I Know A Secret (2017)
   13. Listen to Me (2022)
Martini Club
   1. The Spy Coast (2023)
   2. The Summer Guests (2025)
   Adventure's Mistress (1985)
   Love's Masquerade (1986)
   Call After Midnight (1987)
   Under the Knife (1990)
   Never Say Die (1992)
   Whistleblower (1992)
   Presumed Guilty (1993)
   Girl Missing (1994)
     aka Peggy Sue Got Murdered
   Harvest (1996)
   Life Support (1997)
   Bloodstream (1998)
   Gravity (1999)
   The Bone Garden (2007)
   No Rest for the Dead (2011) (with others)
   Playing with Fire (2015)
   The Shape of Night (2019)
   Choose Me (2021) (with Gary Braver)
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
   Birds of Prey (2022) (with others)
Omnibus editions
   Three Complete Novels (1992)
   Temperature Rising (1994) (with Jacqueline Diamond and JoAnn Ross)
   Heatwave (Omnibus) (1998) (with Barbara Delinsky and Linda Lael Miller)
   Something to Hide (1999) (with Lynn Erickson)
   Impulse (2000) (with Barbara Delinsky and Linda Howard)
   Perfect Timing (2001) (with Barbara Delinsky and Muriel Jensen)
   Take 5, Volume 4 (2001) (with Mary Lynn Baxter and Annette Broadrick)
   Stolen Memories (2001) (with Stella Cameron and Jayne Ann Krentz)
   Family Passions (2002) (with Barbara Delinsky and Jayne Ann Krentz)
   Unveiled (2002) (with Stella Cameron and Amanda Stevens)
   Double Impact (2003) (with Debra Webb)
   Gravity / Bloodstream (2004)
   Under the Knife / Whistleblower (2005)
   Call After Midnight / Under the Knife (2006)
   Murder and Mayhem (2006)
   Never Say Die / Whistleblower (2007)
   Harvest / Life Support (2007)
   Under the Knife / Never Say Die / In Their Footsteps / Call After Midnight (2007)
   In Their Footsteps / Thief Of Hearts (2008)
   Presumed Guilty / Keeper Of The Bride (2008)
   Don't Talk To Strangers (2009)
   Never Say Die / Presumed Guilty (2013)
   In Their Footsteps / Stolen (2014)
   Keeper of the Bride / Whistleblower (2014)
   Secrets Uncovered (2016) (with Janie Crouch)
   Presumed Guilty / In Their Footsteps (2017)
   Thief of Hearts / Keeper of the Bride (2017)
   Whistleblower / Never Say Die (2019)
   After Midnight (2020)
   On the Edge (2021) (with Rita Herron)
   Hidden Truths (2021) (with Rita Herron)
   No Reason to Trust (2021) (with Barb Han)
   In Their Footsteps / Justice for a Ranger (2021) (with Rita Herron)
   Thief of Hearts / Beneath the Badge (2022) (with Rita Herron)
Series contributed to
Rita Awards Best Novel winner (2002) : The Surgeon
Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (2006) : Vanish
Macavity Awards Best Novel nominee (2006) : Vanish

Tess Gerritsen recommends
Final Appeal (2024)
Remigiusz Mróz
"First it was Stieg Larsson, then Jo Nesbo, and now it's time for another sensational crime author to enter our shores."
Murder by Degrees (2023)
Ritu Mukerji
"Ritu Mukerji weaves a thrillingly atmospheric tale of intrigue, featuring a brilliant female doctor who's ahead of her time. The descriptions of medicine in a bygone era are so vivid, you can almost see the glint of lamplight reflected in Dr. Lydia Weston's scalpel as she slices through skin."
The Death of Us (2023)
Lori Rader-Day
"Lori Rader-Day is a master of psychological suspense, and her talent shines in The Death of Us. This tale of dangerous secrets and family tensions sucked me right in and kept me reading late into the night."
The New Neighbor (2022)
Karen Cleveland
"Few books have sucked me in as completely as The New Neighbor did. Karen Cleveland ingeniously melds domestic intrigue with the lightning pace of a spy thriller, showing us the devastating personal costs of intelligence work."
Dark Objects (2022)
(Laughton Rees, book 1)
Simon Toyne
"There are times when I read another author's novel and it's so darn good I just want to put down my own pen and retire because I can't match it. This is that book."
In the Dark We Forget (2022)
Sandra SG Wong
"A chilling, nerve-jangling journey into lost memories and unforgettable terrors. Sandra Wong knows what scares us all--and what we can never forget."

More recommendations 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors