book cover of Last Girl Gone
Added by 15 of our members

Last Girl Gone

(2018)
(The first book in the Laura Chambers Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A Sun-Sentinel Top Debut Mystery of 2018

Last Girl Gone is...your new favorite procedural.”—Bustle

This pulse-pounding series debut is the next obsession for fans of Julia Keller and David Bell, and readers of unflinching thrillers.

Sometimes, the journey home is the most harrowing. And it’s every parent’s worst nightmare.


Investigative journalist Laura Chambers is back in her tiny hometown of Hillsborough, North Carolina, the one place she swore never to return. Fired from the Boston Globe, her career in shambles, she reluctantly takes a job with the local paper. The work is simple, unimportant, and worst of all, boring—at least until a missing girl turns up dead, the body impeccably clean, dressed to be the picture of innocence.

Years earlier, ten-year-old Patty Finch left home and never made it back. But for the people of Hillsborough, Patty was just the beginning. Child after child disappeared, a reign of terror the town desperately wants to forget. Now that terror has returned to seize another girl. And another. And another.

This is the story Laura’s been waiting for—her one last chance to get back onto the front page. She dives deeper into a case that runs colder by the second, only to discover the truth may be far closer to home than she could have ever imagined. Powerful, intricate, and tense, Last Girl Gone will have you looking over your shoulder long after the last page.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"J. G. Hetherton's Last Girl Gone is a stunning debut that takes the reader down a dark and vivid rabbit hole. The twists and turns come fast and furious, and the novel's protagonist, journalist Laura Chambers, is a character I want to read more about. Swiftly paced, riveting, poignant and real, this book shows you can go home again…but you really may not want to." - David Bell

"Last Girl Gone is one of the most surefooted, accomplished debut thrillers I've read in ages. Readers are going to fall hard for J. G. Hetherton. He's a terrific talent and makes the rest of us look bad. It would be a shame if something were to happen to him…" - Chelsea Cain

"Last Girl Gone doesn’t read like the work of someone new to suspense. Not only has J. G. Hetherton created an engaging and interesting protagonist who discovers terrible secrets from the past and an implacable evil surviving in the present, he has crafted a riveting story full of twists and shocks. Perfectly paced and plotted from its dramatic beginning to its twist ending, Last Girl Gone is a compulsive read that will keep the reader turning pages." - Christine Carbo

"One hell of a twisted baddie, all wrapped up in [a] fantastic premise, fantastic writing, and one hell of an ending. I read it in a day." - Paul Cleave

"Forget sleep. Forget everything. No one will pry this book out of your hands until the last diabolical twist." - Brian Freeman

"Chilling, creepy, atmospheric…[A] rare debut novel that reads like the work of a seasoned pro. [Hetherton's] tale of murder, cruelty and small-town psychopathology grips onto you hard and fast and doesn't ever let go…Outstanding…Not to be missed!" - Owen Laukkanen


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Thin Dark Line
(Broussard and Fourcade, book 1)
Tami Hoag
thumb
The Professionals
(Stevens and Windermere, book 1)
Owen Laukkanen

Used availability for J G Hetherton's Last Girl Gone

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel
Author(s): J G Hetherton
ISBN: 1-68331-617-7 / 978-1-68331-617-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel
Author(s): J G Hetherton
ISBN: 1-64385-018-0 / 978-1-64385-018-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone Lib/E: A Laura Chambers Mystery (Laura Chambers Mysteries)
Author(s): J G Hetherton
ISBN: 1-5385-5745-2 / 978-1-5385-5745-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
ISBN: 1-5385-5746-0 / 978-1-5385-5746-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
ISBN: 1-5385-5747-9 / 978-1-5385-5747-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: The Laura Chambers Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): J G Hetherton
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Last Girl Gone: A Laura Chambers Novel
Author(s): J G Hetherton
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU