Owen Laukkanen's picture
388 books added

Owen Laukkanen

Canada (b.1983)

aka Owen Matthews

Owen Laukkanen's debut thriller, The Professionals, was published by G.P. Putnam's Sons on March 29, 2012. An alumnus of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing BFA program, Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker. A commercial fisherman when he's not writing, Laukkanen divides his time between Vancouver and Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction
Stevens and Windermere
   1. The Professionals (2012)
   2. Criminal Enterprise (2013)
   3. Kill Fee (2014)
   4. The Stolen Ones (2015)
   5. The Watcher in the Wall (2016)
   6. The Forgotten Girls (2017)
McKeena Rhodes
   1. Gale Force (2018)
Winslow and Burke
   1. Deception Cove (2019)
   2. Lone Jack Trail (2020)
   How to Win At High School (2015) (as by Owen Matthews)
   The Fixes (2016) (as by Owen Matthews)
Series contributed to
Owen Laukkanen recommends
Adrift (2023)
Lisa Brideau
"A marvelously inventive page-turner that marks Brideau as a legitimate rising star."
Tower of Babel (2021)
(Queens Mystery, book 1)
Michael Sears
"Michael Sears is a born storyteller, whose sardonic wit, documentarian's eye for detail, and unflagging sense of empathy I've long admired. Tower of Babel is another crackerjack entry into his catalogue, an intricate, original, and more-than-a-little-seedy underdog story that kept me up long past my bedtime, my palms sweaty and my every nerve on edge as I raced through the pages toward the climactic--and wholly satisfying--throwdown. Sears is a master at creating tension; once this book sinks its hooks into you, it won't let you go."
South of the Deuce (2020)
(Sean Richardson, book 4)
James L Thane
"An expertly-plotted page turner that kept me on tenterhooks until the pulse-pounding finale."

More recommendations 

Books containing stories by Owen Laukkanen
Locked and Loaded: Volume 3 (2015)
edited by
Erik Arneson, Jen Conley, Christopher Irvin and Ron Earl Phillips
Crimespree Magazine #56 (2014)
(Crimespree Magazine)
edited by
Jon Jordan and Ruth Jordan

Award nominations
2016 Barry Award for Best Novel (nominee) : The Stolen Ones
2014 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Hardcover Novel (nominee) : Criminal Enterprise
2013 International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel (nominee) : The Professionals
2013 Barry Award for Best First Novel (nominee) : The Professionals
2013 Anthony Award for Best First Novel (nominee) : The Professionals

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors