Owen Laukkanen's picture
107 followers

Owen Laukkanen


Canada (b.1983)

aka Owen Matthews

Owen Laukkanen's debut thriller, The Professionals, was published by G.P. Putnam's Sons on March 29, 2012. An alumnus of the University of British Columbia's Creative Writing BFA program, Laukkanen spent three years in the world of professional poker. A commercial fisherman when he's not writing, Laukkanen divides his time between Vancouver and Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction
 
Novels
   How to Win At High School (2015) (as by Owen Matthews)
   The Fixes (2016) (as by Owen Matthews)
   The Wild (2021)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Awards
Anthony Awards Best First Novel nominee (2013) : The Professionals
Barry Awards Best Novel nominee (2016) : The Stolen Ones


Owen Laukkanen recommends
thumb
Criminal Economics (2013)
Eric Beetner
"Balls out insanity!."
thumb
Blessed Are the Dead (2014)
(Gabriella Giovanni Mysteries, book 1)
Kristi Belcamino
"A fast-paced and remarkably assured debut ... Belcamino puts herexperience on the crime beat to good use, creating the kind of villain who'lllurk in your nightmares long after the book ends. Double-check your locksbefore you crack this one open!"
thumb
The Drifter (2016)
(Peter Ash, book 1)
Nick Petrie
"A timely, intelligent thriller, as much an indictment as a gripping page-turner. Nick Petrie’s debut simmers and seethes until it finally boils over in a masterfully-drawn final showdown. Teeming with grit and desperation and told in spare, vivid prose, this is not a debut you’ll want to miss."
thumb
The Second Girl (2016)
(Frank Marr, book 1)
David Swinson
"Brimming with equal parts authenticity and heart, The Second Girl boasts a cops-and-corner-boys milieu as gritty and compelling as anything in The Wire, as told by a tough-talking P.I. protagonist with a vulnerable side. David Swinson is a hell of a fine writer, and The Second Girl is a stellar first entry in what's sure to be a can't miss series."
thumb
Triggerfish (2016)
Dietrich Kalteis
"Authentic west coast crime...written with a snare-drum energy that keeps the pages turning A heck of a lot of fun."
thumb
Last Girl Gone (2018)
(Laura Chambers Mystery, book 1)
J G Hetherton
"Chilling, creepy, atmospheric…[A] rare debut novel that reads like the work of a seasoned pro. [Hetherton's] tale of murder, cruelty and small-town psychopathology grips onto you hard and fast and doesn't ever let go…Outstanding…Not to be missed!"
thumb
Crossroad (2019)
W H Cameron
"Gripping and darkly comic...Packed with unusual and enthralling characters, and set in a wonderful, fully-realized, high desert milieu, Crossroad had me hooked from page one."
thumb
Trace of Evil (2019)
(Natalie Lockhart, book 1)
Alice Blanchard
"Moody and atmospheric [...] the kind of tale that lingers long after you've raced through its twists and turns to the utterly gripping finale."
thumb
The Amsterdam Deception (2020)
(David Knight, book 1)
Tony Ollivier
"Fascinating,fast-paced and wildly inventive, Tony Ollivier's THE AMSTERDAM DECEPTION is atreat for fans of Robert Ludlum and Dan Brown, or anyone who likes high-stakes,action-packed spy games. If Jason Bourne did ballet, he'd be David Knight, theprotagonist in this the first book in what's sure to be a spectacular series."
thumb
South of the Deuce (2020)
(Sean Richardson, book 4)
James L Thane
"An expertly-plotted page turner that kept me on tenterhooks until the pulse-pounding finale."
thumb
Tower of Babel (2021)
Michael Sears
"Michael Sears is a born storyteller, whose sardonic wit, documentarian's eye for detail, and unflagging sense of empathy I've long admired. Tower of Babel is another crackerjack entry into his catalogue, an intricate, original, and more-than-a-little-seedy underdog story that kept me up long past my bedtime, my palms sweaty and my every nerve on edge as I raced through the pages toward the climactic--and wholly satisfying--throwdown. Sears is a master at creating tension; once this book sinks its hooks into you, it won't let you go."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors