book cover of Jar of Hearts

Jar of Hearts

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
"Jar of Hearts grabs you by the throat! The perfect blend of riveting characters, chilling details, and gasping twists in this standout thriller will keep you frantically reading until the explosive end." (Lisa Gardner, New York Times best-selling author of Right Behind You)

This is the story of three best friends: one who was murdered, one who went to prison, and one who's been searching for the truth all these years....

When she was 16 years old, Angela Wong - one of the most popular girls in school - disappeared without a trace. Nobody ever suspected that her best friend, Georgina Shaw, now an executive and rising star at her Seattle pharmaceutical company, was involved in any way. Certainly not Kaiser Brody, who was close with both girls back in high school.

But 14 years later, Angela Wong's remains are discovered in the woods near Geo's childhood home. And Kaiser - now a detective with Seattle PD - finally learns the truth: Angela was a victim of Calvin James. The same Calvin James who murdered at least three other women.

To the authorities, Calvin is a serial killer. But to Geo, he's something else entirely. Back in high school, Calvin was Geo's first love. Turbulent and often volatile, their relationship bordered on obsession from the moment they met right up until the night Angela was killed. For 14 years, Geo knew what happened to Angela and told no one. For 14 years, she carried the secret of Angela's death until Geo was arrested and sent to prison.

While everyone thinks they finally know the truth, there are dark secrets buried deep. And what happened that fateful night is more complex and more chilling than anyone really knows. Now the obsessive past catches up with the deadly present when new bodies begin to turn up, killed in the exact same manner as Angela Wong. How far will someone go to bury her secrets and hide her grief? How long can you get away with a lie? How long can you live with it?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Jar of Hearts is harrowing and intense?a vivid look at the long repercussions of violent crime, with a central character you won't soon forget. Jennifer Hillier locks you in on the first page, and astonishes to the last." - Joseph Finder

"Jar of Hearts grabs you by the throat! The perfect blend of riveting characters, chilling details, and gasping twists in this standout thriller will keep you frantically reading until the explosive end." - Lisa Gardner

"A gripping page-turner." - Caroline Kepnes

"As dark as a storm-torn night and just as unnerving, Jar of Hearts will have readers gasping in shock as they tear through the pages. Suspenseful, gritty and utterly unforgettable." - Riley Sager

"Intense and compelling, Jar of Hearts is a well-written blend of fascinating characters and a deeply layered story, which unwinds with excruciating intensity. This page-turner will grip your imagination until the very last, astonishing twist." - Chevy Stevens

"We all have embarrassing exes, right? You almost feel bad for Geo, the slippery heroine at the heart of Jennifer Hillier’s dark and twisted tale. It’s just that Geo's ex turns out to be a serial killer. And, maybe, just maybe, she had something to do with his first murder; and, oh, that first murder victim was one of Geo’s best friends. Hmm. I was hooked on page one. Hillier’s masterful story-telling and compelling voice pulled me deeper and deeper. The plot only twisted and ratcheted tighter from there until I couldn’t pull away. This is a smart, edgy thriller with lots of surprises. Buckle up." - Lisa Unger


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jennifer Hillier's Jar of Hearts

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts (Wheeler Large Print Book)
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-4328-5599-9 / 978-1-4328-5599-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-250-15419-7 / 978-1-250-15419-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-250-20902-1 / 978-1-250-20902-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts: The 'riveting, stand-out thriller' perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner and Riley Sager
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-78649-514-7 / 978-1-78649-514-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts (International Edition)
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-250-19349-4 / 978-1-250-19349-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan USA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
ISBN: 1-4272-9620-0 / 978-1-4272-9620-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts: The 'riveting, stand-out thriller' perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner and Riley Sager
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Jar of Hearts
Author(s): Jennifer Hillier
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA