book cover of The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
Added by 48 of our members

The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory

(2020)
(The second book in the Spitfire Girls series)
A novel by

 
 
The second book in the Air Raid Girls series - a wonderful new Christmas story of friendship, love and duty in wartime, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Rosie Hendry.

Don't miss part 3 in the series - The Air Raid Girls: Wartime Brides is available for pre-order now!

---------------------------------------------

November, 1941.

Christmas is coming... and despite the blackout, shortages and a constant threat of air raids, the inhabitants of Kelthorpe on the Yorkshire coast are determined that war won't stop them celebrating.

The run-up to Christmas sees sisters Connie and Lizzie, and their good friend Pamela, busier than ever. Between their jobs, carol-singing rehearsals with the church choir and night shifts doing their bit as Air Raid Wardens and ambulance drivers, it's all go.

But when Connie and Lizzie's dear dad falls ill, their sweethearts Tom and Bill are called up by the Royal Navy for dangerous mine-sweeping duties, and Pamela's sweetheart Fred is targeted by vicious locals, the girls have to believe in miracles to keep soldiering on.

Can their dearest wishes come true this Christmas?

'A festive tonic!' Peterborough Telegraph

'An ideal stocking filler for those who enjoy a well-written novel depicting wartime life' Holderness Gazette

'An evocative and nostalgic book about love, family, friendship and fortitude' Culturefly, 6 Uplifting Books to Read over the Festive Season

---------------------------------------------

Readers LOVE the Air Raid Girls series:

'There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book' 5 star review
'In all the women at war series of book I have read so far, I think this is the best' 5 star review
'I couldn't put this book down' 5 star review
'Loved the whole story. Hated it coming to an end' 5 star review
'Just the kind of book I like' 5 star review



Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jenny Holmes's The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory

Hardback Editions

September 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas: A wonderfully festive and heart-warming new WWII saga (The Air Raid Girls, 2)
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
ISBN: 1-78763-515-5 / 978-1-78763-515-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas: A wonderfully festive and heart-warming new WWII saga (The Air Raid Girls Book 2) (The Air Raid Girls, 2)
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
ISBN: 0-552-17708-3 / 978-0-552-17708-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory: An uplifting wartime story of hope and courage (The Spitfire Girls Book 2) (The Spitfire Girls, 2)
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
ISBN: 0-552-17583-8 / 978-0-552-17583-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2021 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Air Raid Girls at Christmas: A wonderfully festive and heart-warming new WWII saga (The Air Raid Girls Book 2)
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Spitfire Girls Fly for Victory: An uplifting wartime story of hope and courage (The Spitfire Girls Book 2)
Author(s): Jenny Holmes
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU