book cover of Operation Certain Death
Added by 6 of our members

Operation Certain Death

(2021)
(The first book in the Dom Riley Thriller series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Ollie Ollerton, Andy McNab and Mark 'Billy' Billingham - a breathless, edge-of-your-seat thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author and bomb disposal expert, Kim Hughes GC. 

‘A terrific start to a new series . . . Light the blue touch paper and retire to a comfortable chair’ The Times
 
‘A taut thriller that seizes your attention from the first page’ Daily Express

‘A powerful tale from an author who knows his stuff. Addictively compelling, you’ll be reading into the small hours’ Alan McDermott, author of Fight to Survive

HE THOUGHT HE'D LEFT THE WAR BEHIND. BUT IT'S COME HOME WITH HIM. 

A bomb explodes in a newly designed shopping complex, ripping through the lives of everyone in its wake. Confirmed as a targeted terrorist attack, special units are quickly brought in to lock down the area.

For bomb-disposal expert, Staff Sergeant Dominic Riley, Afghanistan never feels far away and that’s especially true on the morning of the bombing. And it's only just beginning.

The bomb-maker has bigger plans in place, designed for maximum destruction. Plans that are personal to Riley - and his family. And he has no qualms about how many innocent bystanders are caught in the firestorm. 
 
But our fate is in the hands of a man who has his own demons to face. And they might just push him over the edge . . .

?LONGLISTED FOR THE WILBUR SMITH ADVENTURE WRITING PRIZE 2021

Praise for Kim's memoir Painting the Sand:

'Breathtaking. Kim Hughes is the man who stands between us and oblivion' Andy McNab (author of Bravo Two Zero)

'An uplifting and enlightening account of the personal courage and dedication required to do a very lonely job in the most extreme of conditions' John Nichol (The Mail On Sunday)

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kim Hughes's Operation Certain Death

Hardback Editions

July 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
ISBN: 1-4711-8357-2 / 978-1-4711-8357-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
ISBN: 1-4711-8359-9 / 978-1-4711-8359-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
ISBN: 1-398-50141-7 / 978-1-398-50141-6
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
ISBN: 1-4711-9579-1 / 978-1-4711-9579-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2020 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Operation Certain Death: A Dom Riley Thriller
Author(s): Kim Hughes
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon AU