book cover of The Paris Daughter
Added by 154 members
 

The Paris Daughter

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
'An unmissable reading treat' Lancashire Evening Post

'Beautifully written and emotionally charged . . . impossible to put down' HAZEL GAYNOR

A heartwrenching and evocative wartime novel, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Rachel Hore and Lucinda Riley.

Two mothers. Two daughters. Two families torn apart forever.

Paris, 1939. Elise and Juliette are certain nothing can come between them. So, when war breaks out and Elise is forced to flee, she entrusts Juliette with her daughter, playmate to Juliette's own little girl.

More than a year later, with the war finally ending, Elise returns to reunite with her daughter, only to find her friend's bookstore reduced to rubble - and Juliette nowhere to be found. What happened to Mathilde in those last terrible moments? Juliette has seemingly vanished without a trace, taking all the answers with her. Elise's desperate search leads her to New York - and to Juliette - one final, fateful time.

The Paris Daughter is a story about mothers and daughters, the way loss transforms us, and the roads we find to beginning anew in the face of impossible odds.

PRAISE FOR KRISTIN HARMEL:

'Kristin Harmel is firmly in the top echelon of WW2 storytellers' HEATHER MORRIS

'A master storyteller' SANTA MONTEFIORE

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Kristin Harmel's superpower is the emotional punch she packs into her vast repertoire of beautifully crafted historical fiction....Her exquisite and gut-wrenching novel reveals that even in the darkest times, there are rays of light...that even when you are lost, under the stars fate will guide you home." - Lisa Barr

"The Paris Daughter is a heartrending, uplifting novel. It is a poignant portrait of how we assign guilt even in the most blameless of circumstances, and a powerful reminder of the importance of moving on from the past before we become trapped there." - Janet Skeslien Charles

"he Paris Daughter is an all consuming tale of war, love and family, and at its core is a heart touching look at a mother's love and the sacrifices we make for our children....Historical fiction at its best!" - Sadeqa Johnson

"The Paris Daughter tore up my heart and put it back together again." - Martha Hall Kelly

"A master storyteller." - Santa Montefiore

"Powerful, deeply emotional, and sure to be on everyone's 'must read' list." - Susan Elizabeth Phillips

"Brilliantly crafted and heart-shatteringly beautiful, THE PARIS DAUGHTER is one of the best historical novels I have ever read....This is a timeless book of survival, strength, courage, a forever lasting song calling for peace." - Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai

"A gorgeous, gut-wrenching read!" - Kate Quinn

"A heart-wrenching wartime story of motherly sacrifice, guilt, and above all, love." - Jennifer Rosner

"A powerful exploration of the depths of a mother's love and the impossible choices that must be made during times of war....Part mystery, part family saga, part homage to the artist's soul, this book had me in tears and kept me riveted until the final page. It was unputdownable." - Jill Santopolo

"Kristin Harmel is one of my must-read authors, and I loved THE PARIS DAUGHTER....Harmel exemplifies the best in historical fiction; a story that brings history to vivid life, and one that enlightens as well as moves the reader." - Lisa Scottoline


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Kristin Harmel's The Paris Daughter


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors