book cover of Spitfire
Added by 23 of our members
 

Spitfire

(2020)
(The first book in the Livy Nash Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A “gritty and glamorous” debut historical mystery set in post-war Paris and London—for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network (Julia Kelly, author of Light Over London)

In the wake of World War II, former Resistance spy Livy Nash is called back to the high-stakes world of espionage and intrigue—by none other than James Bond creator Ian Fleming

How far would you go for vengeance?

It’s V-E Day 1946 in London. World War II is long over, and former spy Livy Nash is celebrating with her third drink before noon. She went to war to kill Nazis. Dropped behind enemy lines as a courier, she quickly became one of the toughest agents in France. But her war ended with betrayal and the execution of the man she loved. Now, Livy spends her days proofreading a demeaning advice column for little ladies at home, and her nights alone with black market vodka.

But everything changes when she meets the infamous Ian Fleming. The man who will create the world’s most sophisticated secret agent has an agenda of his own and sends Livy back to France with one task: track down the traitor who killed the only man she ever loved. Livy jumps at the chance, heading back to Paris undercover as a journalist. But the City of Lights is teeming with spies, and Livy quickly learns just how much the game has changed. With enemies on every corner and ever-shifting alliances, she’ll have to learn to fight a new war if she wants to conquer the past once and for all.


Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"If you're a fan of espionage thrillers, you'll love Spitfire. . . A fantastic debut novel." - Jeanne M Dickson

"Post WWII London and Paris serve as a backdrop for a gutsy, damaged heroine who matches wits with a dangerous new enemy. A riveting page-turner!" - Dianne Freeman

"Meticulously researched with a twisty, compelling plot and a heroine that you root for from the first page, Spitfire combines all the elements of great historical fiction." - Jane Healey

"Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart . . . Filled with intrigue, betrayal, heartache, and danger, Spitfire is a debut not to be missed." - Meghan Holloway

"Gritty and glamorous, Spitfire races through the streets of post-war London and Paris in a twisting story of intrigue and betrayal . . . Livy Nash is exactly my kind of heroine." - Julia Kelly

"Huie's taut spy thriller takes the reader to a Britain and France where the wounds of war are both deep and fresh . . . An auspicious debut." - Charlie Lovett

"[An] intriguing tale of revenge and redemption." - D M Quincy

"Huie has created a hard-bitten, hard-core heroine in Livy Nash, and a perfectly noir spy thriller." - Alisa Smith


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for M L Huie's Spitfire


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors