book cover of Dead Ground in Between
Added by 1 of our members

Dead Ground in Between

(2016)
(The fourth book in the D. I. Tom Tyler series)
A novel by

 
 
From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-listen for fans of Foyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.

It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.

Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.

Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters - from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled - Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a mystery and a rich, satisfying listening experience.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
To Die but Once
(Maisie Dobbs, book 14)
Jacqueline Winspear
thumb
Casualty of War
(Bess Crawford Mystery, book 9)
Charles Todd
thumb
The Mermaid's Scream
(Wesley Peterson, book 21)
Kate Ellis
thumb
The Mechanical Devil
(Wesley Peterson, book 22)
Kate Ellis

Used availability for Maureen Jennings's Dead Ground in Between

Paperback Editions

August 2017 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
ISBN: 0-7710-5057-7 / 978-0-7710-5057-2 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between (Di Tom Tyler 4)
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
ISBN: 1-78329-254-7 / 978-1-78329-254-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2016 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
ISBN: 0-7710-5055-0 / 978-0-7710-5055-8 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between (Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Mysteries)
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
ISBN: 1-5436-4122-9 / 978-1-5436-4122-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between (A Detective Tom Tyler Mystery Book 4)
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
Publisher: Titan Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dead Ground in Between (Tom Tyler Mystery Series Book 4)
Author(s): Maureen Jennings
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA