Karen Odden's picture
92 followers

Karen Odden



Karen Odden's interest in the Victorian era and specifically railway crashes goes back to her New York University doctoral dissertation, which explored how the medical, parliamentary, and literary representations of railway disasters helped to create a discourse out of which Freud and others fashioned their ideas of trauma.Karen currently resides in Scottsdale, Arizona with her husband, her two children, and her ridiculously cute beagle, Rosy.





 

Genres: Historical Mystery
 
New Books
October 2022

thumb
Under a Veiled Moon
(Inspector Michael Corravan, book 2)
Novels
thumb
 
Karen Odden recommends
thumb
Valentino Will Die (2021)
(Bianca Dangereuse, book 2)
Donis Casey
"...A thoroughly enjoyable ride."
thumb
Death in a Pale Hue (2022)
(Art Center Mystery, book 1)
Susan Van Kirk
"A charming cozy with a sensitive young artist heroine, Jill Madison, who returns to her small town with the best of intentions-to develop a non-profit art center to serve the community-only to discover an old murder that will pull the community apart before it can mend. With a rich cast of secondary characters-including Jill's intuitive detective brother Tom, the dour board member Ivan who constantly doubts Jill's management abilities, and a range of suspects-it's an entertaining read and a wonderful start to what I hope will be a series!"
thumb
The Lindbergh Nanny (2022)
Mariah Fredericks
"Suspenseful and compelling, The Lindbergh Nanny is one of the best historical novels I have read in recent years. In Fredericks' deft hands, Betty Gow is vulnerable, observant, and utterly relatable. The pacing is perfect, the emotional stakes high, and the secondary characters, with all their flaws, are sensitively portrayed. Fans of Sarah Blake, Jennifer Egan, and Kate Morton will find much to love here. Not to be missed by anyone who loves well-wrought historical fiction with a humane spirit."

Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors