book cover of The Fifth Season
Added by 233 members

The Fifth Season

(The first book in the Broken Earth series)
A novel by

Hugo Best Book
Nebula Awards Best Novel (nominee)
World Fantasy Best Novel (nominee)
Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel
Book 1 in the record-breaking triple Hugo-Award-winning trilogy

***One of Time Magazine's top 100 fantasy books of all time***
***Shortlisted for the World Fantasy, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards***
New York Times Notable Book and the inaugural book club pick ***

IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.
IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

'Amazing' Ann Leckie
'Breaks uncharted ground'Library Journal
'Powerful' io9
'Elegiac, complex, and intriguing'Publishers Weekly
'Intricate and extraordinary'New York Times
'Brilliant'Washington Post

The Broken Earth trilogy is complete - beginning withThe Fifth Season, continuing in The Obelisk Gate(Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel) and concluding with The Stone Sky (Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel and Nebula Award).

Also by N. K. Jemisin:
The Inheritance trilogy
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
The Broken Kingdoms
The Kingdom of Gods

The Dreamblood Duology
The Killing Moon
The Shadowed Sun

Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for N K Jemisin's The Fifth Season

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors