book cover of The Jane Austen Society
Added by 31 of our members

The Jane Austen Society

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
'Sweet, smart escapism' People magazine

'Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice... delightful!' Woman's World magazine

'A spectacular story! I fell in love with it' Elle Croft


'Hope can sometimes be just enough'



It's only a few months since the war ended but the little village of Chawton is about to be hit by another devastating blow. The heart of the community and site of Jane Austen's cherished former home, Chawton estate is in danger of being sold to the highest bidder.

Eight villagers are brought together by their love for the famous author's novels, to create The Jane Austen Society. As new friendships form and the pain of the past begins to heal, surely they can find a way to preserve Austen's legacy before it is too late?

And there may even be a few unexpected surprises along the way...

A heartbreaking and uplifting novel of hope, loss and love. Perfect for fans of Miss Austen by Gill Hornby and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer.

Readers are falling in love with The Jane Austen Society:<'/h3>

'A wonderful book, a wonderful read' Karen Joy Fowler

'Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society. A charming and memorable debut' Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

'An extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate' Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky

'I can't remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel . . .' Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort

'Joyous . . . Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters' Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan 8

'A charming yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature - the beloved Jane Austen in particular - to heal and elevate the human spirit' Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"The Jane Austen Society is a joyous novel. Written beautifully from the first sentence to the last, Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters, with the charming English village in which the story is set, and with Jane Austen herself. I read it straight through, relishing every word and regretting only that it eventually had to end. With tears still in my eyes from the perfect closing scene, I ran to pull a Jane Austen novel from my bookshelf, eager to remain in the magical world Natalie Jenner conjured. In a time where it is so easy to feel we are all at odds with one another, The Jane Austen Society is a beautiful reminder that connection and care are at the heart of the human experience." - Kim van Alkemade

"Natalie Jenner's lovely debut novel, The Jane Austen Society, is a charming, yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature -- the beloved Jane Austen in particular -- to heal and elevate the human spirit in the aftermath of World War II." - Marie Benedict

"Few things draw disparate people together so quickly as discovering they love the same writers. Few writers cement such friendships as deeply as Austen does. I believe that the readers of Jenner's book will fall in love with the readers inside Jenner's book, all of us thinking and dreaming of Austen the whole while. What could be better? Nothing, that's what! A wonderful book, a wonderful read." - Karen Joy Fowler

"I can't remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel as I am with The Jane Austen Society. Natalie Jenner creates a world populated with characters who come together to preserve Jane Austen's home in the village of Chawton after WW II. And in so doing she explores love and grief and hope, all while plunging us headfirst into Austen's words. A celebration of the human spirit and the power of stories, I just love this book!" - Ann Hood

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society, which tells the story of an eclectic group of people in a post-World War II English village who come together to save the beloved author's home and legacy. Author Natalie Jenner has penned a charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." - Pam Jenoff

"Prepare to meet 'three or four families in a country village' who embrace their passion and form a literary society in honor of an author whose enduring appeal, after 200 years, reminds us of what should be paramount in our lives: compassion, love, and reading!! The Jane Austen Society is an uplifting tribute to its inspiration and the nobility of the human spirit. Natalie Jenner could be the next Helen Simonson." - Laurel Ann Nattress

"Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is an extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate with the kind of humanity that made Ms. Austen's stories so universal and timeless." - Mark Sullivan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society

Hardback Editions

October 2020 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-64358-653-X / 978-1-64358-653-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-4091-9410-8 / 978-1-4091-9410-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


May 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-250-24873-6 / 978-1-250-24873-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : USA Paperback

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-250-79717-9 / 978-1-250-79717-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-4091-9412-4 / 978-1-4091-9412-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-4091-9411-6 / 978-1-4091-9411-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-250-27218-1 / 978-1-250-27218-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
ISBN: 1-250-75219-1 / 978-1-250-75219-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: 'A wonderful book, a wonderful read' Karen Joy Fowler
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author(s): Natalie Jenner
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA