book cover of Wings of the Storm
Added by 38 of our members
 

Wings of the Storm

(2016)
(The third book in the Rise of Sigurd series)
A novel by

 
 
A Viking saga of warmongering, honour and loyalty from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones.

"A fitting end to a trilogy that fans of Bernard Cornwell should devour" -- THE TIMES

"The master storyteller...whose books throw the reader headlong into the Viking age." -- BEN KANE


"This remains Viking writing at its best: thrilling in it truest sense, heart-rendering and, yes, glorious." -- MANDA SCOTT


"Probably the best Viking saga I have ever read -- ***** Reader review


"Wonderfully written and researched, the whole series makes the entire Nordic world come alive" -- ***** Reader review


"This trilogy is gripping from start to finish" -- ***** Reader review


*****************************************

THE GODS MUST BE FAVOURED...

Norway, AD 785
. A wild place, a place of blood, a place where the gods hold sway . . .

Sigurd Haraldarson
and his oathsworn band are winning fame and reputation. But to confront his hated enemy - the oath-breaker and betrayer King Gorm - they must win riches too.

When a daring raid goes wrong, Sigurd finds himself a prisoner of the powerful
Jarl Guthrum. Bound like a slave, he is taken to the sacred temple at Ubsola to face the sacrificial knife.

But here Sigurd discovers a potent relic:
Gungnir, a great spear that would give him the power to assemble a host strong enough to challenge King Gorm, and avenge the betrayal of his father and the murder of his family.
The roar of Odin and the wild hunt will be as nothing compared to Sigurd's rage, for he and his warriors will be borne on the wings of the storm . . .

Wings of the Storm concludes the Viking saga, started in God of Vengeance and Winter's Fire.



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A belter of a novel...it's perfect for fans of historical fiction and fantasy alike, from Cornwell to Abercombie." - Ben Kane


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Giles Kristian's Wings of the Storm

Hardback Editions

December 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm (3) (Sigurd)
Author(s): Giles Kristian
ISBN: 0-593-07455-6 / 978-0-593-07455-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: (The Rise of Sigurd 3): An all-action, gripping Viking saga from bestselling author Giles Kristian
Author(s): Giles Kristian
ISBN: 0-552-17133-6 / 978-0-552-17133-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm (3) (Sigurd)
Author(s): Giles Kristian
ISBN: 0-593-07456-4 / 978-0-593-07456-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: The Rise of Sigurd 3
Author(s): Giles Kristian
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


December 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: The Rise of Sigurd 3
Author(s): Giles Kristian
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: The Rise of Sigurd, Book 3
Author(s): Giles Kristian
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: The Rise of Sigurd, Book 3
Author(s): Giles Kristian
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wings of the Storm: (The Rise of Sigurd 3): An all-action, gripping Viking saga from bestselling author Giles Kristian
Author(s): Giles Kristian
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU