James Kelman's picture
56 books added

James Kelman

Scotland (b.1946)

James Kelman (born in Glasgow) is an influential writer of novels, short stories, plays and political essays. His novel A Disaffection was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction in 1989. Kelman won the 1994 Booker Prize with How late it was, how late and aroused something of a controversy in doing so: one of the judges, Rabbi Julia Neuberger, called the book 'a disgrace' when it was announced that Kelman had won. In 1998 Kelman was awarded the Scotland on Sunday/Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Award.

Awards: Saltire (2012), Booker (1994), James Tait Black (1989)  see all

Genres: Literary Fiction
New and upcoming books
   An Old Pub Near the Angel (1973)
   Not, Not While the Giro (1983)
   Lean Tales (1985) (with Alasdair Gray and Agnes Owens)
   The Burn (1991)
   Hardie and Baird and Other Plays (1991)
   Essays and Stories (1995)
   Seven Stories (1997)
   Selected Stories (2001)
   If it is Your Life (2010)
   A Lean Third (2014)
   That Was a Shiver (2017)
   Keep Moving and No Questions (2023)
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Anthologies edited
   East End Anthology (1988)
no image available
Non fiction show
Books containing stories by James Kelman
Best British Short Stories 2017 (2017)
(Best British Short Stories)
edited by
Nicholas Royle

2012 Saltire Literary Award : Mo Said She Was Quirky
2008 Saltire Literary Award : Kieron Smith, Boy
1994 Booker Prize : How Late It Was, How Late
1989 James Tait Black Memorial Prize : A Disaffection

Award nominations
2001 Booker Prize (longlist) : Translated Accounts
1989 Booker Prize (shortlist) : A Disaffection

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors