book cover of Lilac Girls
Added by 63 of our members

Lilac Girls

(2016)
(The first book in the Caroline Ferriday series)
A novel by

 
 
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

USA Today “New and Noteworthy” Book • LibraryReads Top Ten Pick

“Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates.”People

“A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It’s smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read.”Fort Worth Star-Telegram

“A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history’s most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears.”San Francisco Book Review

“Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See.”Library Journal (starred review)

“[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly’s vivid depiction of history and excellent characters.”Publishers Weekly

“Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrück.”Kirkus Reviews

“Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history—women’s history—that should never be forgotten.”—Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls

“Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . . the best book I’ve read all year.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history that should never be forgotten." - Lisa See

"ich with historical detail and riveting to the end, 'Lilac Girls' weaves the lives of three astonishing women into a story of extraordinary moral power set against the harrowing backdrop of Europe in thrall to Nazi Germany. Martha Hall Kelly moves effortlessly across physical and ethical battlegrounds, across the trajectory of a doomed wartime romance, across the territory of the soul. I can t remember the last time I read a novel that moved me so deeply." - Beatriz Williams


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls

Hardback Editions

August 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-4104-9173-0 / 978-1-4104-9173-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-101-88307-3 / 978-1-101-88307-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2021 : UK Paperback

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-78746-794-5 / 978-1-78746-794-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-4328-3991-8 / 978-1-4328-3991-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-101-88308-1 / 978-1-101-88308-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 0-399-17913-5 / 978-0-399-17913-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books Inc.
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 0-655-60224-0 / 978-0-655-60224-8
Publisher: Bolinda/Penguin Audio Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 0-655-60225-9 / 978-0-655-60225-5
Publisher: Bolinda/Penguin Audio Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
ISBN: 1-101-88958-6 / 978-1-101-88958-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Penguin eBooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel
Author(s): Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA