book cover of The Last Exit
Added by 4 of our members

The Last Exit

(2021)
(The first book in the Jen Lu Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Ben Winters and Cory Doctorow. In this thrilling near-future novel, the secret to eternal life is closely guarded by people who will do anything to protect it--even if it means destroying everything in their path.

Set in Washington D.C. in the near future, climate change has hit hard, fires are burning, unemployment is high, and controversial longevity treatments are only available to the very rich. Enter resourceful young police detective, Jen B. Lu, and her 'partner', Chandler, a SIM implant in her brain and her instant link to the Internet and police records, and constant voice inside her head. He's an inquisitive tough guy, with a helluva sense of humor and his own ideas about solving crimes.

As a detective in the Elder Abuse unit, Jen is supposed to be investigating kids pushing their aging parents to "exit" so they are eligible to get the longevity drug. But what really has her attention are the persistent rumors about Eden, an illegal version of the longevity drug, and the bizarre outbreak of people aging almost overnight, then suddenly dying--is this all connected? Is Big Pharma involved?

When Jen's investigations of Eden take her too close to the truth, she is suspended, Chandler is deactivated, and her boyfriend is freaked out by "the thing inside her brain." This leaves Jen to pursue a very dangerous investigation all by herself.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"An engrossing thriller set in a fascinatingly plausible near future, The Last Exit centres on a human-AI partnership that’s as believable as it's moving." - Emma Donoghue

"Clever, unconventional, compelling—and one hell of a good read." - Ian Hamilton

"Detective Lu has troubles aplenty coming at her in this fast-paced thriller: a baffling mystery to solve when too many people start dying too fast, personal moral quandaries to wrestle with, and a cruel and inequitable society on the brink of chaos to navigate." - Con Lehane

"I love a book that makes me think, shows me a different world, and makes me savor the world I have, and be more grateful for it." - Anne Perry

"The Last Exit hits hard. Fast action—a melding of the mental and physical—keeps this smart futuristic thriller racing, and its contemporary implications keep the reader thinking." - Thomas Perry

"Cobalt Blue is a highly accomplished debut that does not miss a beat. Characters, plot and style: it’s got it all. Fully recommended for all crime fiction aficionados." - Yrsa Sigurðardóttir


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Michael Kaufman's The Last Exit

Hardback Editions

April 2021 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Last Exit: A Jen Lu Mystery (Jen Lu Mysteries)
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
ISBN: 1-64358-866-4 / 978-1-64358-866-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sterling Mystery Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Exit: A Jen Lu Mystery
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
ISBN: 1-64385-567-0 / 978-1-64385-567-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
ISBN: 1-66206-841-7 / 978-1-66206-841-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
ISBN: 1-66207-114-0 / 978-1-66207-114-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Exit
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Exit: A Jen Lu Mystery
Author(s): Michael Kaufman
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU