book cover of Crossings
Added by 3 of our members

Crossings

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
"A sparkling debut. Landragin’s seductive literary romp shines as a celebration of the act of storytelling." Publishers Weekly

"Romance, mystery, history, and magical invention dance across centuries in an impressive debut novel."
Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

"Deft writing seduces the reader in a complex tale of pursuit, denial, and retribution moving from past to future. Highly recommended."
Library Journal (Starred Review)

Alex Landragin's Crossings is an unforgettable and explosive genre-bending debut—a novel in three parts, designed to be read in two different directions, spanning a hundred and fifty years and seven lifetimes.


On the brink of the Nazi occupation of Paris, a German-Jewish bookbinder stumbles across a manuscript called Crossings. It has three narratives, each as unlikely as the next. And the narratives can be read one of two ways: either straight through or according to an alternate chapter sequence.

The first story in Crossings is a never-before-seen ghost story by the poet Charles Baudelaire, penned for an illiterate girl. Next is a noir romance about an exiled man, modeled on Walter Benjamin, whose recurring nightmares are cured when he falls in love with a storyteller who draws him into a dangerous intrigue of rare manuscripts, police corruption, and literary societies. Finally, there are the fantastical memoirs of a woman-turned-monarch whose singular life has spanned seven generations.

With each new chapter, the stunning connections between these seemingly disparate people grow clearer and more extraordinary. Crossings is an unforgettable adventure full of love, longing and empathy.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Crossings is playful, obsessive, romantic, intelligent, and wholly absorbing, with fascinations enough for a whole shelf of novels. I followed its alternate sequence rather than its conventional one, and reading it I had the unusual - for me maybe even unprecedented - sense, no matter where I was in the page count, that I was always occupying its exact center. Like its characters, I was never sure how close I was to the beginning of the story, how close to the end, which gave it an aura of inexhaustibility. It's a book that feels not endless but endlessly replenishable." - Kevin Brockmeier

"This delightful puzzle box of a novel is full of clever structural tricks that echo works by Nabokov and Cortazar, but Crossings goes beyond postmodern gamesmanship and finds real heart and soul in its compelling characters and old-fashionedstorytelling ethos. Alex Landrigan has given us a deeply satisfying read!" - Dan Chaon

"An exquisite novel. My initial melancholy rage at not having written it myself swiftly transformed into blissful gratitude that it exists at all, and that I am lucky enough to read it. Sure to be one of the biggest literary events of the year." - Sam J Miller

"Crossings is at once a romance, a puzzle box, and a supernatural mystery that spans not only the globe but also the centuries. Landragin has crafted a richly imaginative novel sure to appeal to fans of Cloud Atlas and Possession." - Tom Sweterlitsch

"Alex Landragin works a vast magician’s kit of erudite invention and heart in this enchanting debut. Crossings is a novel to savor and re-read." - Wells Tower


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alex Landragin's Crossings

Hardback Editions

July 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Crossings: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Landragin
ISBN: 1-250-25904-5 / 978-1-250-25904-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Crossings
Author(s): Alex Landragin
ISBN: 1-76055-725-0 / 978-1-76055-725-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Picador Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Crossings: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Landragin
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

July 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Crossings: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Landragin
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA