Maja Lunde's picture

Maja Lunde

Norway (b.1975)

Lunde has written eight books for children and young adults. She has also written scripts for Norwegian television and films. The History of Bees (2015) is her first novel for adults. It received massive attention when it was first presented at the London Book Fair (Spring 2015), and was sold to seven languages before the book was even launched in Norway. So far, rights have been sold to 20 languages for publication in more than 30 countries. The novel was the first debut to receive the prestigious Bokhandlerprisen (Norwegian Booksellers Prize).

Genres: Literary Fiction

Picture Books
Maja Lunde recommends
The Bell in the Lake (2020)
(Sister Bells Trilogy, book 1)
Lars Mytting
"Love, suspense, nature and superstition are woven together in this powerful novel."
Everything Is Mine (2021)
Ruth Lillegraven
"A refreshingly different kind of thriller. The story is riveting, the plot artful, with constant twists and surprises and a serious underlying theme. I devoured the book in two evenings, but the characters are still with me…"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors