book cover of Crucible
Added by 2 of our members


(The ninth book in the Valdemar Anthologies series)
An anthology of stories edited by

In March 1987, Mercedes Lackey, a young author from Oklahoma, published her first novel, Arrows of the Queen. No one could have envisioned that this modest book about a magical land called Valdemar would be the beginning of a fantasy masterwork series that would span decades and include more than two dozen titles.

Now the voices of other authors add their own special touches to the ancient land where Heralds "Chosen" from all walks of life by magical horse-like Companions patrol their ancient kingdom, dispensing justice, facing adversaries, and protecting their monarch and country from whatever threatens. Trained rigorously by the Herald's Collegium, these special protectors each have extraordinary Gifts: Mindspeaking, FarSeeing, FarSpeaking, Empathy, Firestarting and ForeSeeing, and are bonded for life with their mysterious Companions. Travel with these astounding adventurers in these original stories.

Genre: Fantasy

Used availability for Mercedes R Lackey's Crucible

Paperback Editions

December 2015 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Crucible: All-New Tales of Valdemar
Author(s): Mercedes Lackey
ISBN: 0-7564-0902-0 / 978-0-7564-0902-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

December 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: Crucible (Valdemar)
Author(s): Mercedes Lackey
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA