Melanie Rawn's picture

Melanie Rawn

USA flag (b.1954)

aka Ellen Randolph

Melanie Rawn is the three-time Locus Award-nominated author of the bestselling Dragon Prince trilogy, the Dragon Star trilogy, and the Glass Thorns trilogy, which includes the novels Touchstone, Elsewhens, and Thornlost. She graduated from Scripps College with a BA in History and has worked as a teacher and editor. Rawn lives in Flagstaff, Arizona.

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction
   The Rushden Legacy (1985) (as by Ellen Randolph)
Series contributed to
Anthologies containing stories by Melanie Rawn
Short stories
The Lady's Gifts (1995)
Salve, Regina (1995)
There Goes the Neighborhood (1997)

John W. Campbell Best Book nominee (1989) : Dragon Prince
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1997) : The Golden Key

Melanie Rawn recommends
Assassin's Apprentice (1995)
(Farseer, book 1)
Robin Hobb
"A richly detailed debut ... highly recommended!"
An Exchange of Hostages (1997)
(Under Jurisdiction, book 1)
Susan R Matthews
"Powerful, insidious and insightful - a singular accomplishment."
Transformation (2000)
(Books of the Rai-kirah, book 1)
Carol Berg
"Vivid characters and intricate magic combined wit a fascinating world and the sure touch of a Real Writer-luscious work!"
The Briar King (2002)
(Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, book 1)
Greg Keyes
"A gorgeous work of deep intrigues and exciting characters, and action to leave the reader breathless. The Briar King belongs in every fantasy collection."
A Natural History of Dragons (2013)
(Memoir by Lady Trent, book 1)
Marie Brennan
"Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve!"
A Queen in Hiding (2020)
(Nine Realms, book 1)
Sarah Kozloff
"A deft and exciting beginning to what I am sure will be a really gorgeous saga."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors