book cover of The Whale Road
Added by 9 of our members

The Whale Road

(2007)
(The first book in the Oathsworn series)
A novel by

 
 
The first in a brand new series charting the adventures of the Oathsworn, a band of Vikings on the chase for the secret hoard of Attila the Hun. Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn -- so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood -- and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder. But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious 'White Christ' are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the 'whale road', toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together. A significant new voice in historical fiction, Robert Low has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, 'The Whale Road' is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin. It heralds a major new series sure to hook old and new readers alike.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A company of warriors, desperate battles, an enthralling read." - Bernard Cornwell

"A fantastic book." - Simon Scarrow


Similar books by other authors

thumb
War of the Wolf
(Last Kingdom, book 11)
Bernard Cornwell
thumb
Odinn's Child
(Viking, book 1)
Tim Severin

Used availability for Robert Low's The Whale Road

Hardback Editions

December 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Whale Road (Historical Fiction)
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 1-4104-0331-9 / 978-1-4104-0331-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Whale Road
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 0-312-36194-7 / 978-0-312-36194-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2007 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Whale Road (The Oathsworn Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 0-00-721528-2 / 978-0-00-721528-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whale Road. Robert Low (The Oathsworn Series)
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 0-00-721530-4 / 978-0-00-721530-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2007 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whale Road (The Oathsworn Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 0-00-721529-0 / 978-0-00-721529-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2007 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Road
Author(s): Robert Low
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


November 2007 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Road
Author(s): Robert Low
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2007 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Road
Author(s): Robert Low
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2007 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Whale Road (The Oathsworn Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Low
ISBN: 0-00-726690-1 / 978-0-00-726690-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2011 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Road (The Oathsworn Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Low
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU