book cover of Error of Judgment
Added by 6 of our members

Error of Judgment

(1971)
(The second book in the Inspector John Crow series)
A novel by

 
 
Looking for a classic murder mystery from an acclaimed crime writer?

Discover Inspector Crow of Scotland Yard. Enjoy a beautifully told story from a time before smart phones and DNA testing. Full of twists and turns, this will have you gripped from start to finish.

A young woman is found dead in a college while the students demonstrate. It turns out she was the principal’s secretary and there was more to her than meets the eye.

Who wanted her dead and why? And what does it have to do with the student revolt led by a charismatic firebrand from Iraq?

Inspector John Crow is called in and has little doubt who’s responsible but a series of surprises will make him reconsider everything. Many of the faculty seem to have things to hide.

This fast-paced mystery will have you enthralled from the start. Set in England in the late 1960s, this is the second book to feature Inspector John Crow. More coming soon.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY WRITER

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ruth Rendell, P.D. James and Peter Robinson.

Roy Lewis is one of the most critically acclaimed crime writers of his generation.

PRAISE FOR ROY LEWIS MYSTERIES

Each Lewis seems to better the last. Here is an intriguing puzzle and likely police work and a fine picture of Northumbrian society and countryside.” The Times

“Roy Lewis has demonstrated an enviable range both in geography and style…a nice neat story.” The Financial Times

“Lots of cunning complications embracing conservation and financial fiddles.” The Guardian

“A thorough, unpretentious and immensely solid piece of work with an interesting and likeable hero.” Times Literary Supplement

Tightly written, well paced and relentlessly accurate.” Oxford Times

“Chilly drama with some stirring cliff hanger.” Sunday Telegraph

THE DETECTIVE
Skeletally-built, mild-mannered Inspector John Crow is established in the Murder Squad in London and constantly meets hostility when he is called upon to work on murder cases in regional crime squads in Wales and the Midlands. He displays strong moral feelings, and a sensitivity which brings him into conflict with regional staff as he doggedly and successfully pursues the truth in cases where he is called in.

INSPECTOR JOHN CROW BOOKS
Book 1: A LOVER TOO MANY
Book 2: ERROR OF JUDGMENT
Book 3: THE WOODS MURDER
Book 4: MURDER FOR MONEY
Book 5: MURDER IN THE MINE
Book 6: A COTSWOLDS MURDER
Book 7: A FOX HUNTING MURDER
Book 8: A DARTMOOR MURDER

ERIC WARD BOOKS
Book 1: THE SEDLEIGH HALL MURDER
Book 2: THE FARMING MURDER
Book 3: THE QUAYSIDE MURDER
Book 4: THE DIAMOND MURDER
Book 5: THE GEORDIE MURDER
Book 6: THE SHIPPING MURDER
Book 7: THE CITY OF LONDON MURDER

More books coming soon! Join the Joffe Books mailing list for updates.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Blood of the Innocents
(D.I. Tom Mariner, book 2)
Chris Collett
thumb
Concerning Blackshirt
(Blackshirt, book 1)
Roderic Graeme
thumb
The C.I.D. Room
(C.I.D. Room, book 1)
Peter Alding

Used availability for Roy Lewis's Error of Judgment

Hardback Editions

March 1971 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Error of Judgement
Author(s): J R Lewis
ISBN: 0-00-231207-7 / 978-0-00-231207-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Distribution Services
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: ERROR OF JUDGMENT a gripping crime mystery full of twists
Author(s): ROY LEWIS
ISBN: 1-78931-043-1 / 978-1-78931-043-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Joffe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Error Of Judgment
Author(s): Roy Lewis
ISBN: 1-84262-862-3 / 978-1-84262-862-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Dales Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Error of Judgment: Inspector John Crow Series, Book 2
Author(s): Roy Lewis
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Error of Judgment: Inspector John Crow Series, Book 2
Author(s): Roy Lewis
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Error of Judgment: Inspector John Crow Series, Book 2
Author(s): Roy Lewis
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Error of Judgment: Inspector John Crow Series, Book 2
Author(s): Roy Lewis
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: ERROR OF JUDGMENT a gripping crime mystery full of twists (Inspector John Crow Book 2)
Author(s): ROY LEWIS
Publisher: Joffe Books mysteries
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU