book cover of The Doll Factory
Added by 11 of our members

The Doll Factory

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
The #1 international bestseller and The New York Times Editor’s Choice

“As lush as the novels of Kate Morton and Diane Setterfield, as exciting as The Alienist and Iain Pears’ An Instance of the Fingerpost, this exquisite literary thriller will intrigue book clubs and rivet fans of historical fiction.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“A lush, evocative Gothic.” —The New York Times Book Review

This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers.” —Booklist, starred review

Obsession is an art.

In this “sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession” (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever.

In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and, among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams—but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.

“A page-turning psychological thriller” (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Fantastic - vivid, poignant, colourful, and elegantly horrifying." - Bridget Collins

"An astonishingly good debut. The Doll Factory reminded me of The Crimson Petal and the White, Fingersmith and Vanity Fair but had a richness of tone that was uniquely its own. Macneal writes with utter mastery, creating a lushly intricate world peopled by living, breathing characters you can’t help but fall in love with and a plot that rattles like a speeding carriage to its thrilling conclusion. I couldn’t put it down. You won’t be able to either." - Elizabeth Day

"With strong echoes of John Fowles' The Collector, The Doll Factory is at once a vivid depiction of a morally dubious world, and a page-turning psychological thriller, with a truly compelling villain." - Essie Fox

"A remarkably assured and beautifully written debut, filled with sinister delights and intriguing themes of imprisonment and objectification. A truly captivating read." - Elizabeth Fremantle

"A gorgeously evocative tale of love, art and obsession." - Paula Hawkins

"This brilliant literary thriller gripped me from the opening page and didn’t relinquish its hold until I’d read the final sentence. The Doll Factory conjures 1850s London in all its grime and glory, possibility and restriction in absorbing, immersive detail. Elizabeth Macneal has created that rare thing: a beautifully researched historical novel with a plot to stop your heart. If this is her first book, I can barely wait to see what she writes next." - Hannah Kent

"A stunning novel that twines together power, art, and obsession. At every turn expectations are confounded - it’s a historical novel and yet feels incredibly relevant and timely. I loved its warmth, it’s wry humour, and the way each small thread leads into an unbearably tense and chilling denouement that had me totally gripped." - Sophie Mackintosh

"I loved The Doll Factory from the very first page and couldn’t do anything else until I’d read right to the end. An exquisite novel of obsession, delusion, resilience and love, Elizabeth Macneal really is a breathtaking new talent." - AJ Pearce

"The Doll Factory is one of the best books I’ve read in ages – heartbreaking and evocative. Elizabeth Macneal draws a vivid picture of life in 1850s London, exploring the world of the pre-Raphaelites and examining the position of women through her unforgettable heroine. At the same time, Elizabeth creates a perfectly structured and page-turning story of love and passion; crime and obsession. A wonderful and intense novel. I loved it." - Jenny Quintana

"A stunningly confident first novel with a real sense of period and place . . . thoroughly engrossing." - Ian Rankin

"The Doll Factory is brilliant, with a refreshingly original quality, beautifully orchestrated narrative, great characters and some fascinating background detail." - Andrew Taylor


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Elizabeth Macneal's The Doll Factory

Hardback Editions

December 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-4328-7177-3 / 978-1-4328-7177-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-982106-76-X / 978-1-982106-76-8
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5290-0239-7 / 978-1-5290-0239-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-982106-77-8 / 978-1-982106-77-5
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5290-0243-5 / 978-1-5290-0243-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-982111-93-3 / 978-1-982111-93-9
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5290-0241-9 / 978-1-5290-0241-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5082-9611-1 / 978-1-5082-9611-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5290-2030-1 / 978-1-5290-2030-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
ISBN: 1-5290-2031-X / 978-1-5290-2031-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory: The Sunday Times Bestseller, BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick and BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Doll Factory
Author(s): Elizabeth Macneal
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon AU