book cover of Gather the Daughters

Gather the Daughters

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book (nominee)
For fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Emily St John Mandel's Station 11, this dark, unsettling and hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood. But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Set on an enchanted island where magic is replaced by Freudian nightmare, Gather the Daughters is an eerie, claustrophobic tale in the spirit of Shakespeare's The Tempest and Grimm's fairy tales." - Joshua Gaylord

"An intriguing, gorgeously realized and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart." - Kate Hamer

"In Gather the Daughters, girls and women face a world that is brutal, insidious, and unjust--and yet, hope and resilience persist. This is a lush, vivid and chilling novel. A remarkable debut." - Edan Lepucki

"An heir to the speculative creations of Margaret Atwood and Shirley Jackson, Gather the Daughters is a darkly compelling read." - Helene Wecker


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Borne
(Borne, book 1)
Jeff VanderMeer

Used availability for Jennie Melamed's Gather the Daughters

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: Shortlisted for The Arthur C Clarke Award
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 1-4722-4170-3 / 978-1-4722-4170-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters
Author(s): Jennie Melamed (author)
ISBN: 0-316-46365-5 / 978-0-316-46365-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: A Novel
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 0-316-46368-X / 978-0-316-46368-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: Shortlisted for The Arthur C Clarke Award
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 1-4722-4172-X / 978-1-4722-4172-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: Shortlisted for The Arthur C Clarke Award
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 1-4722-4171-1 / 978-1-4722-4171-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

July 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: A Novel
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 1-4789-5048-X / 978-1-4789-5048-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: Library Edition
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
ISBN: 1-4789-5045-5 / 978-1-4789-5045-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: A Novel
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: A Novel
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: A Novel
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Gather the Daughters: Shortlisted for The Arthur C Clarke Award
Author(s): Jennie Melamed
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU