Robert Lee Murphy's picture

Robert Lee Murphy

Welcome to the website for Robert Lee Murphy, author of The Iron Horse Chronicles, a frontier, historical trilogy. William Braddock, a recently orphaned fourteen-year-old, sets off on a quest to achieve the freedom to determine his own destiny. Set at the time of the building of the first transcontinental railroad in the late-1860s, Will engages with numerous historical personages, as well as fictional characters, who contribute to the construction of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific Railroads. Roberts goal in writing these books is to provide an engaging way for readers to understand the true history of the completion of the nineteenth centurys greatest engineering achievement, while wrapping their imaginations around the escapades and challenges of the young hero, his friends, and their enemies.
The transcontinental railroad linked the eastern and western portions of the United States in a way that enabled a more rapid development of the vast resources of the country. Often called Manifest Destiny, this westward expansion of the population following the ravages of the Civil War also destroyed the way of life of the native inhabitants, the American Indians. The West would never be the same after the Golden Spike was driven at Promontory Summit.

Genres: Historical
Iron Horse Chronicles
1. Eagle Talons (2014)
2. Bear Claws (2015)
3. The Golden Spike (2017)